W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > March 2011

Re: Specifying longdesc to make it more useful, robust, and encourage better user agent implementation

From: Laura Carlson <laura.lee.carlson@gmail.com>
Date: Tue, 22 Mar 2011 18:33:03 -0500
Message-ID: <AANLkTi=vgQVYYje7fG9CmapxJonxMi=xrQ_PZe87z1hY@mail.gmail.com>
To: Joshue O Connor <joshue.oconnor@cfit.ie>
Cc: HTML WG <public-html@w3.org>, Steve Faulkner <sfaulkner@paciellogroup.com>, Paul Cotton <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>, Charles McCathieNevile <chaals@opera.com>, Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>, Geoff Freed <geoff_freed@wgbh.org>, HTML Accessibility Task Force <public-html-a11y@w3.org>, W3C WAI-XTECH <wai-xtech@w3.org>, html4all <list@html4all.org>, w3c-wai-ua <w3c-wai-ua@w3.org>
Hi Josh,

>>> FWIW, before *any* further solution is engineered @longdesc should be
>>> conforming and valid and a first class citizen in HTML 5.
>>
>> So are you saying that we should stick with Chaals original spec text?
>> http://www.w3.org/html/wg/wiki/index.php?title=ChangeProposals/InstateLongdesc&oldid=10104#Main_Spec_Changes:
>
> I could certainly live with that.

Could you live with
http://www.d.umn.edu/~lcarlson/research/ld-spec-text.html
or
http://www.html5accessibility.com/tests/img-longdesc.html
or some combination of those two?

Thanks.

Best Regards,
Laura
-- 
Laura L. Carlson
Received on Tuesday, 22 March 2011 23:34:39 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Monday, 29 September 2014 09:39:23 UTC