W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > June 2011

RE: hit testing and retained graphics

From: Henri Sivonen <hsivonen@iki.fi>
Date: Wed, 29 Jun 2011 16:49:12 +0200
To: Sean Hayes <Sean.Hayes@microsoft.com>
Cc: "E.J. Zufelt" <everett@zufelt.ca>, Paul Bakaus <pbakaus@zynga.com>, "Tab Atkins Jr." <jackalmage@gmail.com>, John Foliot <jfoliot@stanford.edu>, Charles Pritchard <chuck@jumis.com>, Charles McCathieNevile <chaals@opera.com>, Richard Schwerdtfeger <schwer@us.ibm.com>, Cameron McCormack <cam@mcc.id.au>, Cynthia Shelly <cyns@microsoft.com>, "david.bolter@gmail.com" <david.bolter@gmail.com>, Frank Olivier <Frank.Olivier@microsoft.com>, "Mike@w3.org" <Mike@w3.org>, "public-canvas-api@w3.org" <public-canvas-api@w3.org>, "public-html@w3.org" <public-html@w3.org>, "public-html-a11y@w3.org" <public-html-a11y@w3.org>
Message-ID: <1309358952.2221.51.camel@shuttle>
On Wed, 2011-06-29 at 14:23 +0000, Sean Hayes wrote:
> It took me 5 minutes to find these examples of people "doing it wrong"
> http://www.ericom.com/AccessNow_FAQs.asp
> http://www.thinvnc.com/index.html

These seem to be remote desktop clients that transfer the screen image
from another system. If <canvas> had the API Rich is proposing, would
you expect these apps to use the remote system accessibility API to
transfer the accessibility API state over? How does Microsoft Remote
Desktop and VNC deal with this with non-Web clients?

> http://tge.stormwarestudios.com/example/2010-07-20/

This is a game engine demo and doesn't represent GUI apps.

> http://bitterspring.net/webshifter/

This looks like a demo and not like a serious app that one would spend
time making accessible. It has rather terrible usability even for non-AT
mode of operation.

> https://www.lucidchart.com/

This looks like something that really ought to be SVG.

> http://creativefan.com/20-shockingly-cool-html5-canvas-applications/

These are mainly graphics demos like fractal drawing programs.

-- 
Henri Sivonen
hsivonen@iki.fi
http://hsivonen.iki.fi/
Received on Wednesday, 29 June 2011 14:49:46 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Monday, 29 September 2014 09:39:25 UTC