W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > April 2011

Re: Longdesc - broader UA implementation (was: longdesc)

From: Leif Halvard Silli <xn--mlform-iua@xn--mlform-iua.no>
Date: Thu, 14 Apr 2011 00:05:58 +0200
To: Karl Dubost <karld@opera.com>
Cc: 'HTMLWG WG' <public-html@w3.org>, Laura Carlson <laura.lee.carlson@gmail.com>, Steve Faulkner <faulkner.steve@gmail.com>, Benjamin Hawkes-Lewis <bhawkeslewis@googlemail.com>, Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net>, Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>, Paul Cotton <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>, Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>
Message-ID: <20110414000558651970.6b18829c@xn--mlform-iua.no>
Karl Dubost, Wed, 13 Apr 2011 15:56:16 -0400:
> Le 6 avr. 2011 à 19:07, Leif Halvard Silli a écrit :
>> the same way. Given that @cite is part of HTML5, I would hope that big 
>> browser vendors (with the exception of Henri [0]) already *are* also 
>> interesting in implementing @cite support? 
> 
> I created QuoteLink [1], an Opera extension, which also supports [3] 
> cite attribute.
> It can be certainly improved. I didn't find time yet to fix a few 
> bugs and/or UI improvements. (any suggestions [2] are welcome) But 
> this gives you an additional implementation at least.

Cool! (I tried to log into [1], but didn't manage for some reason - 
I'll retry later.)
 
> For what is worth, cite attribute is accepting URIs. http:// links 
> will be fine, but it might be the case where the URI will be a URN. 
> It means it is possible to create URIs such as 
> 
> 	<blockquote cite="urn:isbn:978-2-912667-70-0">

I hadn't thought about the URN problem. 

> 	</blockquote>
> 
> In my implementation, I made the choice to translate it as a link to 
> the Open Library
> 
> 	http://openlibrary.org/isbn/9782912667700

> 
> This is the main difficulty of implementing cite attribute. Probably 
> it would be better to have an option giving the user the chance to 
> associate the urn: with specific services of their choices. 

Yes, I agree.
 
> [1]: https://addons.opera.com/developer/status/quotelink/

> [2]: https://github.com/karlcow/QuoteLink/issues

> [3]: http://www.la-grange.net/2011/01/06/quoteLink

-- 
leif halvard silli
Received on Wednesday, 13 April 2011 22:06:32 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Monday, 29 September 2014 09:39:24 UTC