W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > February 2010

Re: ISSUE-88 / Re: what's the language of a document ?

From: John Cowan <cowan@ccil.org>
Date: Tue, 23 Feb 2010 08:29:58 -0500
To: Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>
Cc: John Cowan <cowan@ccil.org>, "Roy T. Fielding" <fielding@gbiv.com>, Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>, "Phillips, Addison" <addison@amazon.com>, Mark Davis � <mark@macchiato.com>, "www-international@w3.org" <www-international@w3.org>, HTMLwg WG <public-html@w3.org>
Message-ID: <20100223132958.GJ12274@mercury.ccil.org>
Sam Ruby scripsit:

> I understand that there is a time and place for this kind of social 
> commentary, but please understand that we are trying to conduct business 
> here.  There are plenty of other places appropriate for posts such as 
> this one, and accordingly I will ask you to refrain from using this 
> mailing list for that purpose.

Alas, nothing falls as flat as a joke that fails to be funny.  I shall
refrain.

-- 
John Cowan  <cowan@ccil.org>  http://ccil.org/~cowan
Micropayment advocates mistakenly believe that efficient allocation of
resources is the purpose of markets.  Efficiency is a byproduct of market
systems, not their goal.  The reasons markets work are not because users
have embraced efficiency but because markets are the best place to allow
users to maximize their preferences, and very often their preferences are
not for conservation of cheap resources.  --Clay Shirkey
Received on Tuesday, 23 February 2010 13:30:35 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Wednesday, 9 May 2012 00:17:02 GMT