W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > April 2010

Re: Change definition of URL to normatively reference IRI specification using a well-defined interface

From: Anne van Kesteren <annevk@opera.com>
Date: Fri, 09 Apr 2010 13:03:45 +0200
To: "Julian Reschke" <julian.reschke@gmx.de>, "Slim Amamou" <slim@alixsys.com>
Cc: Martin J. Dürst <duerst@it.aoyama.ac.jp>, "Maciej Stachowiak" <mjs@apple.com>, "Ian Hickson" <ian@hixie.ch>, "Ted Hardie" <ted.ietf@gmail.com>, "Larry Masinter" <LMM@acm.org>, "Marc Blanchet" <Marc.Blanchet@viagenie.ca>, "Sam Ruby" <rubys@intertwingly.net>, "Paul Cotton" <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>, "Michel SUIGNARD" <Michel@suignard.com>, public-html <public-html@w3.org>, "public-iri@w3.org" <public-iri@w3.org>
Message-ID: <op.vav6cjah64w2qv@annevk-t60>
On Fri, 09 Apr 2010 12:55:02 +0200, Slim Amamou <slim@alixsys.com> wrote:
> In fact I did not understand. Anne, could you please explain more.
> Preferably giving an example.

Resolving http://example.org/? (that last character is U+00EB) in a  
Windows-1252 document gives http://example.org/?%EB whereas in a  
UTF-8/UTF-16 document it gives http://example.org/?%C3%AB.


-- 
Anne van Kesteren
http://annevankesteren.nl/
Received on Friday, 9 April 2010 11:05:22 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Wednesday, 9 May 2012 00:17:07 GMT