W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > April 2010

Re: Change definition of URL to normatively reference IRI specification using a well-defined interface

From: Slim Amamou <slim@alixsys.com>
Date: Fri, 9 Apr 2010 12:55:02 +0200
Message-ID: <y2ue5c98a401004090355v68b6ac72sf7d2ceee45e71e32@mail.gmail.com>
To: Julian Reschke <julian.reschke@gmx.de>
Cc: Anne van Kesteren <annevk@opera.com>, Martin J. Dürst <duerst@it.aoyama.ac.jp>, Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>, Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>, Ted Hardie <ted.ietf@gmail.com>, Larry Masinter <LMM@acm.org>, Marc Blanchet <Marc.Blanchet@viagenie.ca>, Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>, Paul Cotton <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>, Michel SUIGNARD <Michel@suignard.com>, public-html <public-html@w3.org>, "public-iri@w3.org" <public-iri@w3.org>
In fact I did not understand. Anne, could you please explain more.
Preferably giving an example.

On Fri, Apr 9, 2010 at 10:57 AM, Julian Reschke <julian.reschke@gmx.de>wrote:

> On 09.04.2010 10:31, Anne van Kesteren wrote:
>
>> On Fri, 09 Apr 2010 10:13:15 +0200, Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>
>> wrote:
>>
>>> Specifically, String A is a possibly-relative URI (really a
>>> possibly-relative IRI reference with lenient Web Address processing),
>>> and String B is an absolute URI that is the base. String A is resolved
>>> against String B as a base, though if String A happens to be absolute,
>>> then A itself will be returned.
>>>
>>
>> Note that if string A contains a query component with non-ASCII
>> characters even though it may appear absolute, resolving it will give
>> you a different string, if the character encoding of the document is not
>> UTF-8/UTF-16.
>>
>
> I understand the intent, but I think the use of the terms "(non-)absolute"
> and "resolving" as above definitely is going to cause confusion.
>
> Best regards, Julian
>
>


-- 
Slim Amamou | سليم عمامو
http://alixsys.com
Received on Friday, 9 April 2010 10:55:38 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Wednesday, 9 May 2012 00:17:07 GMT