W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > April 2010

Re: Change definition of URL to normatively reference IRI specification using a well-defined interface

From: Anne van Kesteren <annevk@opera.com>
Date: Fri, 09 Apr 2010 10:31:16 +0200
To: Martin J. Dürst <duerst@it.aoyama.ac.jp>, "Maciej Stachowiak" <mjs@apple.com>
Cc: "Ian Hickson" <ian@hixie.ch>, "Ted Hardie" <ted.ietf@gmail.com>, "Larry Masinter" <LMM@acm.org>, "Julian Reschke" <julian.reschke@gmx.de>, "Marc Blanchet" <Marc.Blanchet@viagenie.ca>, "Sam Ruby" <rubys@intertwingly.net>, "Paul Cotton" <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>, "Michel SUIGNARD" <Michel@suignard.com>, public-html <public-html@w3.org>, "public-iri@w3.org" <public-iri@w3.org>
Message-ID: <op.vavzaezj64w2qv@annevk-t60>
On Fri, 09 Apr 2010 10:13:15 +0200, Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>  
wrote:
> Specifically, String A is a possibly-relative URI (really a possibly- 
> relative IRI reference with lenient Web Address processing), and String  
> B is an absolute URI that is the base. String A is resolved against  
> String B as a base, though if String A happens to be absolute, then A  
> itself will be returned.

Note that if string A contains a query component with non-ASCII characters  
even though it may appear absolute, resolving it will give you a different  
string, if the character encoding of the document is not UTF-8/UTF-16.


-- 
Anne van Kesteren
http://annevankesteren.nl/
Received on Friday, 9 April 2010 08:32:58 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Monday, 29 September 2014 09:39:16 UTC