W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > October 2009

Re: HTML5 Issue 11 (encoding detection): I18N WG response...

From: Leif Halvard Silli <xn--mlform-iua@xn--mlform-iua.no>
Date: Wed, 14 Oct 2009 03:53:16 +0200
Message-ID: <4AD52F0C.2010700@xn--mlform-iua.no>
To: Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>
CC: Henri Sivonen <hsivonen@iki.fi>, Andrew Cunningham <andrewc@vicnet.net.au>, Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>, Mark Davis ☕ <mark@macchiato.com>, Martin_J=2E_D=FCrst <duerst@it.aoyama.ac.jp>, "Phillips, Addison" <addison@amazon.com>, Richard Ishida <ishida@w3.org>, "public-html@w3.org" <public-html@w3.org>, "public-i18n-core@w3.org" <public-i18n-core@w3.org>, Larry Masinter <masinter@adobe.com>
Ian Hickson On 09-10-13 12.44:

> On Mon, 12 Oct 2009, Henri Sivonen wrote:
>> Query of interest:
>> http://mxr.mozilla.org/l10n-mozilla1.9.1/find?string=global%2Fintl.properties&tree=l10n-mozilla1.9.1&hint=
> 
> I've used this to create a table to replace the contentious paragraph.


Andrew Cunningham On 09-10-12 14.56:

>> > A list of only of non-Windows-1252 defaults sounds as a "table of
>> > the exceptions". Such a list should rather try to document all
>> > legacy encoding locale defaults there are - or could be. It
>> > probably should be defined by another spec, or a Wiki page.
> 
> should be a short list relatively speaking.
> 
> a longer list would be a list of all languages that web browsers currently
> only support using utf-8.


Ian's table [1] right now says that "all other locales" should 
default to Windows 1252. That would include localizations for 
those languages you have in mind here also.

[1] 
http://www.whatwg.org/specs/web-apps/current-work/multipage/parsing.html#determining-the-character-encoding
-- 
leif halvard silli
Received on Wednesday, 14 October 2009 01:53:57 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Monday, 29 September 2014 09:39:09 UTC