W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > October 2009

Re: HTML5 Issue 11 (encoding detection): I18N WG response...

From: Andrew Cunningham <andrewc@vicnet.net.au>
Date: Mon, 12 Oct 2009 22:56:02 +1000
Message-ID: <98fc547186e8651a7795ba617bb2e8b6.squirrel@mail.vicnet.net.au>
To: "Leif Halvard Silli" <xn--mlform-iua@xn--mlform-iua.no>
Cc: "Henri Sivonen" <hsivonen@iki.fi>, Mark Davis ˜• <mark@macchiato.com>, "Ian Hickson" <ian@hixie.ch>, "Larry Masinter" <masinter@adobe.com>, duerst@it.aoyama.ac.jp, "Phillips, Addison" <addison@amazon.com>, "Andrew Cunningham" <andrewc@vicnet.net.au>, "Richard Ishida" <ishida@w3.org>, "public-html@w3.org" <public-html@w3.org>, "public-i18n-core@w3.org" <public-i18n-core@w3.org>

On Mon, October 12, 2009 21:48, Leif Halvard Silli wrote:

> A list of only of non-Windows-1252 defaults sounds as a "table of
> the exceptions". Such a list should rather try to document all
> legacy encoding locale defaults there are - or could be. It
> probably should be defined by another spec, or a Wiki page.

should be a short list relatively speaking.

a longer list would be a list of all languages that web browsers currently
only support using utf-8.

Andrew

-- 
Andrew Cunningham
Research and Development Coordinator
Vicnet
State Library of Victoria
Australia

andrewc@vicnet.net.au
Received on Monday, 12 October 2009 12:56:43 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Wednesday, 9 May 2012 00:16:50 GMT