W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > October 2009

Re: HTML5 Issue 11 (encoding detection): I18N WG response...

From: Mark Davis ☕ <mark@macchiato.com>
Date: Sun, 11 Oct 2009 21:14:40 -0700
Message-ID: <30b660a20910112114y786d85d6t2b63715b59886928@mail.gmail.com>
To: Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>
Cc: Larry Masinter <masinter@adobe.com>, Leif Halvard Silli <xn--mlform-iua@xn--mlform-iua.no>, "Martin J. Dürst" <duerst@it.aoyama.ac.jp>, "Phillips, Addison" <addison@amazon.com>, Andrew Cunningham <andrewc@vicnet.net.au>, Richard Ishida <ishida@w3.org>, "public-html@w3.org" <public-html@w3.org>, "public-i18n-core@w3.org" <public-i18n-core@w3.org>
I'm a little late to this discussion, so please forgive me if I'm covering
ground people have already discussed.

But focusing on advice to developers, I'd suggest replacing 6 and 7 in
by the following 3 numbered items.

   - Test if the bytes are valid UTF-8. If they are, return return that
   encoding, with the
   *tentative*, and abort these steps.
      - *[include note about UTF-8 patterns, maybe reworded a bit.]*
   - The user agent may attempt to autodetect the character encoding *[include
   rest of #5]*
   - Otherwise, return an implementation-defined or user-specified default
   character encoding, with the
   *tentative*. Due to its widespread use as a default in legacy content,
   windows-1252 is recommended as a default in the absences of other


On Sun, Oct 11, 2009 at 19:57, Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch> wrote:

> On 11 Oct 2009, at 18:39, Larry Masinter <masinter@adobe.com> wrote:
>  Can someone please explain, again, why the discussion of default
>> configurations of a particular category of user agent in various
>> regions belongs in the definition of the HyperText Markup Language?
>> What benefit can any author of a web page derive, please, from
>> knowing what the default settings of various browsers in products
>> sold into various language environments?
> Authors aren't the only target audience of this specification. Implementors
> benefit from advice suggesting default encodings. Users benefit from
> consistency in implementations.
> --
> Ian Hickson
Received on Monday, 12 October 2009 04:15:15 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Thursday, 29 October 2015 10:15:52 UTC