W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > June 2009

Re: Request to Strengthen the HTML5 Accessibility Design Principle

From: Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>
Date: Wed, 24 Jun 2009 10:46:55 +0000 (UTC)
To: Steven Faulkner <faulkner.steve@gmail.com>
Cc: Laura Carlson <laura.lee.carlson@gmail.com>, HTML WG <public-html@w3.org>, Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>, Chris Wilson <Chris.Wilson@microsoft.com>, Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>, Anne van Kesteren <annevk@opera.com>, Catherine Roy <ecrire@catherine-roy.net>, Gez Lemon <gez.lemon@gmail.com>, Leif Halvard Silli <lhs@malform.no>, Philip TAYLOR <p.taylor@rhul.ac.uk>, Robert J Burns <rob@robburns.com>, Roger Johansson <roger@456bereastreet.com>, W3C WAI-XTECH <wai-xtech@w3.org>
Message-ID: <Pine.LNX.4.62.0906241044300.16244@hixie.dreamhostps.com>
On Wed, 24 Jun 2009, Steven Faulkner wrote:
>
> The original email from laura was about modifying the HTML 5 design 
> principles, whether or not individual players have been adhering to the 
> spirit or intention of the modifications is neither here nor there.
> 
> The current thread does not address the merits of the proposed wording, 
> which that should be what the debate is about.
> 
> besides, if you feel you have been acting in accordance with the 
> suggested text, then there should be no issue with it no?

I've already said [1] that I think the proposed text is great.

I would like to make progress in actually fixing the underlying problems. 
I'm sure you'd agree that actually getting the cooperation and debte that 
Laura describes is at least as important as the precise wording of the 
design principles.

[1] http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-html/2009Jun/0662.html

-- 
Ian Hickson               U+1047E                )\._.,--....,'``.    fL
http://ln.hixie.ch/       U+263A                /,   _.. \   _\  ;`._ ,.
Things that are impossible just take longer.   `._.-(,_..'--(,_..'`-.;.'
Received on Wednesday, 24 June 2009 10:47:34 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Wednesday, 9 May 2012 00:16:38 GMT