W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > June 2009

Re: Design Principles, Section 1.6.1 relationship to HTML 4.01

From: Rob Sayre <rsayre@mozilla.com>
Date: Mon, 01 Jun 2009 13:09:54 -0400
Message-ID: <4A240B62.2060106@mozilla.com>
To: Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>
CC: Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>, Leif Halvard Silli <lhs@malform.no>, Laura Carlson <laura.lee.carlson@gmail.com>, "Dailey, David P." <david.dailey@sru.edu>, Larry Masinter <masinter@adobe.com>, Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>, HTML WG <public-html@w3.org>
On 6/1/09 7:01 AM, Sam Ruby wrote:
> From my point of view, a push to publish a Design Principles document 
> as a formal W3C Note is a distraction.  To be clear, I am not saying 
> that the Design Principles document itself isn't useful and 
> interesting, but the effort to publish it as a Note means that the 
> details of the wording is something that must be discussed.

There seem to be group members laboring under the assumption that the 
Design Principles document does not apply to their suggestions or 
objections. I would like to put that two year old distraction to rest.

There may be wiggle room in some of the points, but that's not 
concerning. My view is that suggestions and objections that violate the 
Design Principles document in obvious ways will not be taken seriously 
by browser vendors.

- Rob
Received on Monday, 1 June 2009 17:10:34 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Monday, 29 September 2014 09:39:04 UTC