W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > July 2009

RE: Publishing a new draft (was: Draft of @summary text for HTML 5 poll)

From: John Foliot <jfoliot@stanford.edu>
Date: Tue, 28 Jul 2009 22:58:45 -0700 (PDT)
To: "'Larry Masinter'" <masinter@adobe.com>, "'Sam Ruby'" <rubys@intertwingly.net>
Cc: "'Ian Hickson'" <ian@hixie.ch>, "'HTML WG'" <public-html@w3.org>, "'Michael\(tm\) Smith'" <mike@w3.org>, "'Laura Carlson'" <laura.lee.carlson@gmail.com>
Message-ID: <01f201ca1011$9d6fd1c0$d84f7540$@edu>
Larry Masinter wrote:
>
> I object to the working group ONLY publishing a new draft of
> the Hixie fork of the HTML5 specification, because the industry
> and the public are already confused enough about the state of
> the activities of the W3C HTML working group and the process
> we are embarking on.
>
> My objection would be satisfied if we also simultaneously published
> Mike Smith's document and/or Manu's fork as First Public Working
> Drafts along with a clear public explanation of the process we
> are now engaging.

I would like to second that, and hereby register my objection as well. 
However I believe that Larry's criteria for removing the objection is a 
workable compromise, and I would be prepared to rescind my objection as well 
should it be met.

John Foliot
Received on Wednesday, 29 July 2009 05:59:28 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Monday, 29 September 2014 09:39:05 UTC