W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > February 2009

RE: disinterested chairing [was Re: summary="" in HTML5]

From: John Foliot - WATS.ca <foliot@wats.ca>
Date: Thu, 26 Feb 2009 17:01:20 -0800
To: "'Robert J Burns'" <rob@robburns.com>, "'Sam Ruby'" <rubys@intertwingly.net>
Cc: "'Ian Hickson'" <ian@hixie.ch>, "'Gregory J. Rosmaita'" <oedipus@hicom.net>, "'Leif Halvard Silli'" <lhs@malform.no>, "'Maciej Stachowiak'" <mjs@apple.com>, "'James Graham'" <jgraham@opera.com>, "'Joshue O Connor'" <joshue.oconnor@cfit.ie>, "'Steve Axthelm'" <steveax@pobox.com>, "'Steven Faulkner'" <faulkner.steve@gmail.com>, "'Simon Pieters'" <simonp@opera.com>, "'HTMLWG'" <public-html@w3.org>, <wai-xtech@w3.org>, <wai-liaison@w3.org>, <janina@rednote.net>, "'Dan Connolly'" <connolly@w3.org>, "'Matt Morgan-May'" <mattmay@adobe.com>, "'Julian Reschke'" <julian.reschke@gmx.de>, "'W3C WAI Protocols & Formats'" <w3c-wai-pf@w3.org>
Message-ID: <018601c99876$e75e4e50$b61aeaf0$@ca>
+1

Robert J Burns wrote:
> 
> However, you're needlessly exhibiting defensiveness here when the WG
> instead needs you to be be a disinterested leader. Arguments that you
> are justified in ignoring David's or anyone's remarks should not come
> from such a disinterested leader. Also, while a WG chair should
> respond forcefully to unacceptable and unproductive behavior, a chair
> should always do so in a disinterested fashion and not single out one
> side and let others slide.
Received on Friday, 27 February 2009 01:02:16 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Monday, 29 September 2014 09:39:01 UTC