W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > August 2008

Re: meta content-language

From: Andrew Cunningham <andrewc@vicnet.net.au>
Date: Fri, 22 Aug 2008 15:28:09 +1000 (EST)
Message-ID: <40e5fe532abe699aeace07a47557f228.squirrel@newmail.vicnet.net.au>
To: "Felix Sasaki" <fsasaki@w3.org>
Cc: "Martin Duerst" <duerst@it.aoyama.ac.jp>, "Henri Sivonen" <hsivonen@iki.fi>, "Richard Ishida" <ishida@w3.org>, "'Ian Hickson'" <ian@hixie.ch>, "'HTML WG'" <public-html@w3.org>, www-international@w3.org, "Erik van der Poel" <erikv@google.com>


On Fri, August 22, 2008 2:50 pm, Felix Sasaki wrote:


>> Good question. But most typical metadata (author, title, summary,...)
>> isn't really actionable either.
>>
>
> There are organizations, e.g. digital libraries, who care a lot about
> the creation of metadata in HTML, including author, title etc., and who
> make it actionable for e.g. their search facilities. Compared to the
> whole web this is a minority for sure, but I think such use cases should
> be taken into account as well, since they could help moving the "chicken
> and egg" problem of metadata content and metadata processing tools
> moving forward.
>

although Digital Libraries, DOMS, federated search, etc all use metdata
extensively, they use much more thorough and exacting metadata standards.

DC, OAI, OLAC, METS, MODS, and all sorts of other standards.

Likewise, many government metadata standards are more comprehensive.

So I doubt there would be much practical application of metadata vis-a-vis
HTML5 except in terms of other metadata standards being embedded in HTML5

-- 
Andrew Cunningham
Research and Development Coordinator
Vicnet
State Library of Victoria
Australia

andrewc@vicnet.net.au
Received on Friday, 22 August 2008 05:28:49 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Monday, 29 September 2014 09:38:57 UTC