W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html-media@w3.org > June 2012

RE: Selection of day and time for weekly HTML WG Media teleconference

From: Paul Cotton <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>
Date: Thu, 7 Jun 2012 23:21:02 +0000
To: Adrian Bateman <adrianba@microsoft.com>, "David Dorwin <ddorwin@google.com> (ddorwin@google.com)" <ddorwin@google.com>, Mark Watson <watsonm@netflix.com>, "Aaron Colwell <acolwell@google.com> (acolwell@google.com)" <acolwell@google.com>
CC: "public-html@w3.org" <public-html@w3.org>, "public-html-media@w3.org" <public-html-media@w3.org>
Message-ID: <AB5704B0EEC35B4691114DC04366B37F049EBF@TK5EX14MBXC127.redmond.corp.microsoft.com>
>In addition we are in the process of setting up a separate email list for this work and of linking the two Bugzilla components for the Encrypted Media [3] and Media Source [4] proposals to that email list.  Expect an announcement about the separate email list ASAP.

We have created a separate email list public-html-media@w3.org for work on the media topics.  The email list is archived at http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-html-media/ 

Individuals MUST explicitly join this new mailing list to receive and to send email to this new email list.  You can subscribe by sending an message to public-html-media-request@w3.org with the subject line "subscribe" (the body can be empty).

We have linked the two Bugzilla components for the Encrypted Media and Media Source proposals to this email list.

We now have a conference bridge for the regular Tuesday meeting and a tracker instance:

  https://www.w3.org/Guide/1998/08/teleconference-calendar#s_5366
  https://www.w3.org/html/wg/media/track/

Bridge details:

  Tuesdays 15:00-16:00 UTC (11:00am-12:00pm Boston local)
  Zakim Bridge +1.617.761.6200, conference 63342 ("media")
  20 participants

/paulc

Paul Cotton, Microsoft Canada
17 Eleanor Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K2E 6A3
Tel: (425) 705-9596 Fax: (425) 936-7329


-----Original Message-----
From: Paul Cotton 
Sent: Thursday, May 31, 2012 9:06 AM
To: public-html@w3.org
Cc: David Dorwin <ddorwin@google.com> (ddorwin@google.com); Adrian Bateman; Mark Watson; Aaron Colwell <acolwell@google.com> (acolwell@google.com); Sam Ruby (rubys@intertwingly.net); Maciej Stachowiak (mjs@apple.com); Philippe Le Hegaret (plh@w3.org); Michael(tm) Smith (mike@w3.org)
Subject: RE: Selection of day and time for weekly HTML WG Media teleconference

The results of the WBS poll are available at:
https://www.w3.org/2002/09/wbs/1/html-media/results 

The time slot that raised the greatest participation AND the least dissent is Tuesday at 15:00 UTC:

	1500 UTC is 8am PDT, 11am EDT, 5pm Paris, 11pm Beijing, 12midnight Tokyo/Seoul, 1am Sydney, 3am Auckland

Based on these poll results the WG Chairs have decided to convene the first HTML WG Media teleconference on Tue Jun 12 at 1500 UTC.  After Jun 12 this teleconference will occur weekly.

I will Chair the first meeting and will send out an agenda for this meeting before Fri June 8.    I will work with the editors of the Encrypted Media [1] and Media Source [2] proposals to set the agendas for the initial meetings.

In addition we are in the process of setting up a separate email list for this work and of linking the two Bugzilla components for the Encrypted Media [3] and Media Source [4] proposals to that email list.  Expect an announcement about the separate email list ASAP.

/paulc
HTML WG co-chair

[1] Encrypted Media Extensions editor's draft: http://dvcs.w3.org/hg/html-media/raw-file/tip/encrypted-media/encrypted-media.html
[2] Media Source Extensions editor's draft: http://dvcs.w3.org/hg/html-media/raw-file/tip/media-source/media-source.html
[3] Encrypted Media bugs: http://tinyurl.com/7tfambo  
[4] Media Source Extension bugs: http://tinyurl.com/6pdnzej 

Paul Cotton, Microsoft Canada
17 Eleanor Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K2E 6A3
Tel: (425) 705-9596 Fax: (425) 936-7329


-----Original Message-----
From: Paul Cotton [mailto:Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com]
Sent: Thursday, May 17, 2012 5:55 PM
To: public-html@w3.org
Cc: Sam Ruby (rubys@intertwingly.net); Maciej Stachowiak (mjs@apple.com); Philippe Le Hegaret (plh@w3.org); Michael(tm) Smith (mike@w3.org)
Subject: RE: Selection of day and time for weekly HTML WG Media teleconference

The correct link to the poll is https://www.w3.org/2002/09/wbs/40318/media/ 

/paulc

Paul Cotton, Microsoft Canada
17 Eleanor Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K2E 6A3
Tel: (425) 705-9596 Fax: (425) 936-7329


-----Original Message-----
From: Paul Cotton
Sent: Thursday, May 17, 2012 5:47 PM
To: public-html@w3.org
Cc: Sam Ruby (rubys@intertwingly.net); Maciej Stachowiak (mjs@apple.com); Philippe Le Hegaret (plh@w3.org); Michael(tm) Smith (mike@w3.org)
Subject: Selection of day and time for weekly HTML WG Media teleconference

At the HTML WG F2F meeting May 3-4 the WG decided to commence work on the Encrypted Media and Media Services proposals [1-2]. In addition the F2F meeting suggested having a separate weekly HTML WG teleconference to cover discussion on these media related items.

To encourage wide participation in these discussions the Chairs have created a poll to permit WG members and potential WG members to indicate their preferred day and time for a weekly HTML WG Media teleconference between the following three choices on Tuesday or Wednesday each week:

1300 UTC is 6am PDT, 9am EDT, 3pm Paris, 10pm Tokyo. 
1500 UTC is 8am PDT, 11am EDT, 5pm Paris, 12midnight Tokyo. 
2100 UTC is 2pm PDT, 5pm EDT, 11pm Paris, 6am+1 Tokyo. 

The poll is available here and it will run through Thu May 24:
http://www.w3.org/2002/09/wbs/40318/html5-last-call-poll/

/paulc
HTML WG co-chair

Paul Cotton, Microsoft Canada
17 Eleanor Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K2E 6A3
Tel: (425) 705-9596 Fax: (425) 936-7329
Received on Thursday, 7 June 2012 23:21:41 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Thursday, 7 June 2012 23:21:43 GMT