W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html-bugzilla@w3.org > February 2011

[Bug 12072] Comments before <!DOCTYPE html> should be forbidden

From: <bugzilla@jessica.w3.org>
Date: Tue, 15 Feb 2011 04:35:06 +0000
To: public-html-bugzilla@w3.org
Message-Id: <E1PpCd0-0007xY-Nt@jessica.w3.org>

Leif Halvard Silli <xn--mlform-iua@xn--mlform-iua.no> changed:

           What    |Removed                     |Added
                 CC|                            |xn--mlform-iua@xn--mlform-i
                   |                            |ua.no

--- Comment #1 from Leif Halvard Silli <xn--mlform-iua@xn--mlform-iua.no> 2011-02-15 04:35:06 UTC ---
An advantage which a forbidding of comments before the DOCTYPE provides, is
that it would largely kill off X-UA-COMPATIBLE meta elements from  having any
effect in legal HTML5 syntax. 


    <!--[if IE]><meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=8"
    must appear *before* the DOCTYPE in order to affect the parsing mode. Only
if used
    "naked" (that is: outside condional comments) does it work *after* the

   THUS for example this:

    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
    <!--[if IE]><meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=8"

     causees quirks-mode even in IE8. (And IE9 assumingly works the same.)

     WHERAS this:

    <!--[if IE]><meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=8"
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">

     causes standards-mode in IE8, despite the transitional DOCTYPE.

This would be an advantage, because X-UA-COMAPTIBLE is only proprietary syntax
and, in general a PIA and a complication for web authors. (If authors doesn't
care about HTML5 validity anyway, then they are of course free to use

Configure bugmail: http://www.w3.org/Bugs/Public/userprefs.cgi?tab=email
------- You are receiving this mail because: -------
You are the QA contact for the bug.
Received on Tuesday, 15 February 2011 04:35:08 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Wednesday, 7 January 2015 16:31:05 UTC