W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html-admin@w3.org > January 2013

Re: CfC: to publish Encrypted Media Extensions specification as a First Public Working Draft (FPWD)

From: Robert O'Callahan <robert@ocallahan.org>
Date: Wed, 30 Jan 2013 11:29:55 +1300
Message-ID: <CAOp6jLbvnEAtrJFgSCj5u++WRJ7116=FgCioWJXGBa1nXd=Kgw@mail.gmail.com>
To: ifette@google.com
Cc: "Tab Atkins Jr." <jackalmage@gmail.com>, Paul Cotton <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>, "public-html-admin@w3.org" <public-html-admin@w3.org>, "David Dorwin <ddorwin@google.com> (ddorwin@google.com)" <ddorwin@google.com>, Adrian Bateman <adrianba@microsoft.com>, Mark Watson <watsonm@netflix.com>
On Tue, Jan 29, 2013 at 5:21 PM, Ian Fette (イアンフェッティ) <ifette@google.com>wrote:

> We can either sit in our admittedly morally-comfortable sandbox as we
> watch our relevance fade (either because the web loses to a more capable
> native platform, or because this work and implementation proceed outside of
> W3C), or we can hold our noses a bit and try to ensure that if this is
> something we have to do, we at least do it in the best way possible. We can
> ensure that as much as possible is interoperable.


Do you support my objection, then?

The current EME draft and the untrammeled CDM ecosystem it enables is very
far from "ensuring that as much as possible is interoperable".

Rob
-- 
Jesus called them together and said, “You know that the rulers of the
Gentiles lord it over them, and their high officials exercise authority
over them. Not so with you. Instead, whoever wants to become great among
you must be your servant, and whoever wants to be first must be your
slave — just
as the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his
life as a ransom for many.” [Matthew 20:25-28]
Received on Tuesday, 29 January 2013 22:30:23 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 29 January 2013 22:30:25 GMT