W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html-a11y@w3.org > September 2012

Re: Getting HTML5 to Recommendation in 2014

From: Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>
Date: Thu, 20 Sep 2012 20:16:04 -0400
Message-ID: <505BB1C4.5030507@intertwingly.net>
To: Silvia Pfeiffer <silviapfeiffer1@gmail.com>
CC: Steve Faulkner <faulkner.steve@gmail.com>, Paul Cotton <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>, "public-html@w3.org" <public-html@w3.org>, "w3c-wai-pf@w3.org" <w3c-wai-pf@w3.org>, "public-html-a11y@w3.org" <public-html-a11y@w3.org>, Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>, "Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net> (janina@rednote.net)" <janina@rednote.net>, Philippe Le Hegaret <plh@w3.org>, "Judy Brewer <jbrewer@w3.org> (jbrewer@w3.org)" <jbrewer@w3.org>, Jeff Jaffe <jeff@w3.org>, Tim Berners-Lee <timbl@w3.org>
On 09/20/2012 07:44 AM, Silvia Pfeiffer wrote:
> Hi Paul,
>
> Similarly, I was surprised by what is stated for Issue-194
> full-transcript attribute :
>
>      Allow the A11y TF the authority to produce an extension spec that
> includes full-transcript. If such a specification obtains consensus
> and meets the proposed CR exit criteria by 2014Q2 it could be folded
> back into the core HTML spec at that time.
>
> We already have two change proposals for this issue that both came out
> of the a11y TF. I was under impression that the next step was a
> decision by the chairs. Are you now expecting the a11y TF to decide
> between the two change proposals and come up with spec text for it?

Would the following work for you?  (Changes in _UNDERSCORED_CAPS_)

Allow the A11y TF the authority to produce _ONE_OR_MORE_ extension 
spec_S_ that include full-transcript. If _ANY_ such a specification 
obtains consensus and meets the proposed CR exit criteria by 2014Q2 it 
could be folded back into the core HTML spec at that time.

- Sam Ruby
Received on Friday, 21 September 2012 00:16:40 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Friday, 21 September 2012 00:16:41 GMT