W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html-a11y@w3.org > June 2011

Re: hit testing and retained graphics

From: Benjamin Hawkes-Lewis <bhawkeslewis@googlemail.com>
Date: Thu, 30 Jun 2011 22:59:54 +0100
Message-ID: <BANLkTin+m9_-RJsfJxiCydG8TqFa2xpGgQ@mail.gmail.com>
To: Charles Pritchard <chuck@jumis.com>
Cc: Henri Sivonen <hsivonen@iki.fi>, Sean Hayes <Sean.Hayes@microsoft.com>, "E.J. Zufelt" <everett@zufelt.ca>, Paul Bakaus <pbakaus@zynga.com>, "Tab Atkins Jr." <jackalmage@gmail.com>, John Foliot <jfoliot@stanford.edu>, Charles McCathieNevile <chaals@opera.com>, Richard Schwerdtfeger <schwer@us.ibm.com>, Cameron McCormack <cam@mcc.id.au>, Cynthia Shelly <cyns@microsoft.com>, "david.bolter@gmail.com" <david.bolter@gmail.com>, Frank Olivier <Frank.Olivier@microsoft.com>, "Mike@w3.org" <Mike@w3.org>, "public-canvas-api@w3.org" <public-canvas-api@w3.org>, "public-html@w3.org" <public-html@w3.org>, "public-html-a11y@w3.org" <public-html-a11y@w3.org>
On Thu, Jun 30, 2011 at 10:45 PM, Benjamin Hawkes-Lewis
<bhawkeslewis@googlemail.com> wrote:

> But exposing "a11y information" in the case of Windows means
> exposing basically every API in the system, since in practice AT has to
> hack around the limitations of MSAA, e.g. using display hooks,
> mirror drivers, and application-specific APIs. Simply passing through UI
> Automation calls will not allow a remote JAWS instance (say) to access
> common Windows applications.

For those unfamiliar with the hoops Windows AT has to jump through,
there's a great talk about this by Doug Geoffray of GW-Micro:

http://www.yuiblog.com/blog/2007/03/28/video-geoffray/

--
Benjamin Hawkes-Lewis
Received on Thursday, 30 June 2011 22:00:23 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Friday, 27 April 2012 04:42:41 GMT