W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html-a11y@w3.org > January 2011

Re: Reminder: January Change Proposal Deadlines

From: Eric Carlson <eric.carlson@apple.com>
Date: Tue, 4 Jan 2011 14:29:38 -0800
Cc: 'David Singer' <singer@apple.com>, 'Laura Carlson' <laura.lee.carlson@gmail.com>, 'HTML Accessibility Task Force' <public-html-a11y@w3.org>, 'Janina Sajka' <janina@rednote.net>, 'Martin Kliehm' <martin.kliehm@namics.com>, "'E.J. Zufelt'" <everett@zufelt.ca>, 'Steve Faulkner' <sfaulkner@paciellogroup.com>, 'Matt May' <mattmay@adobe.com>
Message-Id: <9AC4DE8A-135C-4FB0-A588-00D66985672F@apple.com>
To: John Foliot <jfoliot@stanford.edu>

On Jan 3, 2011, at 11:29 AM, John Foliot wrote:

> 
> I have asked numerous non-sighted users and other accessibility
> specialists for their feedback on this issue, and almost without pause
> they all agree that knowing the text alternative for a placeholder image
> that *stands in* for a video is an important piece of data they wish to
> know/understand. A deliberately chosen image by the page author to occupy
> the region which will subsequently be the video *is not* the same as the
> video, as Everett (who originally filed the bug), Artur Ortega (Yahoo!),
> Gregory Rosmaita and Matt May (Adobe) have all confirmed/explained on this
> list. While we may not have unanimity on this topic within the Task Force,
> I think that it is more than just an "individual submission".
> 
  And I have asked *you* numerous times, without getting an answer, how an element with the poster attribute is different from an element with the "poster image" as the first frame of the video file? 

  Suppose we want to show an image of the movie rating before a video plays. You can do it with the rating screen in an external file loaded with the poster attribute:

    <video poster=mpaa_rating.png src=trailer.m4v >

  Or you can do it by making the same image the first frame of the video file:

    <video src=trailer_with_mpaa_rating.m4v >

  From the user's perspective theses two elements are *exactly* the same - each shows the movie rating until playback begins. 

  Why should these two cases require different markup? How will this lead to a better user experience for anyone?

eric
> 
Received on Tuesday, 4 January 2011 22:30:41 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Wednesday, 7 January 2015 15:05:17 UTC