W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-grddl-comments@w3.org > July to September 2008

Re: GRDDL and HTML5

From: Julian Reschke <julian.reschke@gmx.de>
Date: Mon, 25 Aug 2008 13:23:32 +0200
Message-ID: <48B29634.80702@gmx.de>
To: Harry Halpin <hhalpin@ibiblio.org>
CC: Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>, Danny Ayers <danny.ayers@gmail.com>, Dan Connolly <connolly@w3.org>, "Booth, David (HP Software - Boston)" <dbooth@hp.com>, "public-grddl-comments@w3.org" <public-grddl-comments@w3.org>

Harry Halpin wrote:
> ...
> 2) For users who use @rel="profile", get the GRDDL transformation and 
> then run it over the HTML5 DOM of the page. Minor change.
> 
> What we need to know from *both* the HTML5 community is simple: is 
> @rel="profile" in the spec, and does the community have consensus?
> ...

That touches another issue: who owns the namespace of rel values? (for 
which there is not HTNL5 WG consensus either, as far as I can tell).

Unrelated to that: in case we could agree that head/@profile could be 
substituted by link/@rel=profile with the same meaning, why on earth 
would we then remove head/@profile in the first place? Why break it, 
when its functionality is actually used?

BR, Julian
Received on Monday, 25 August 2008 11:24:13 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 6 January 2015 19:55:03 UTC