W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-geolocation@w3.org > April 2009

Re: Intended usage notification

From: Doug Turner <doug.turner@gmail.com>
Date: Sun, 12 Apr 2009 19:58:18 -0700
Cc: Nick Doty <npdoty@ischool.berkeley.edu>, Andrei Popescu <andreip@google.com>, "Thomson, Martin" <Martin.Thomson@andrew.com>, Alissa Cooper <acooper@cdt.org>, Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>, public-geolocation@w3.org
Message-Id: <82623CB7-48EB-4F69-AD57-48B19DCE5EBF@gmail.com>
To: Greg Bolsinga <bolsinga@apple.com>

On Apr 12, 2009, at 3:39 PM, Greg Bolsinga wrote:

> On Apr 12, 2009, at 3:23 PM, Nick Doty wrote:
>
>> Hmm, wouldn't it be pretty tacky for users to have to click through  
>> a generic Javascript alert in order to make sure they had  
>> contextual information for the separate dialogue for revealing  
>> location information?
>
> That's subjective. But the developer can create an entire web page  
> that explains things before it uses GeoLocation.
>
>> I think we have an opportunity to make it easy for web site  
>> designers to do the right thing and disclose this information in a  
>> standardized way.  If we rely on each web site designer going out  
>> of their way to accomplish this (with a Javascript alert or varying  
>> levels of conspicuous disclosure), I fear that we'll end up  in a  
>> situation where most users are making the decision whether or not  
>> to disclose their location without knowing the relevant  
>> information, beyond the URI.  In other words, I'd like to solve the  
>> problem for everyone, not just for me.
>
> IMHO, all this API is about is getting the location. It's not about  
> UI for this feature. That's properly left up to the UA and the code  
> on the sites using the API.


Nick,
I think you have raised an interesting idea about disclosing intent of  
usage through this device API.  However, over this thread we have  
shown that it does more harm that it helps, especially when you  
consider untrustworthy sites.

Thanks for raising the idea, however I do not think any UA should  
implement an API in such a way.

Doug Turner
Received on Monday, 13 April 2009 02:59:06 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Thursday, 22 March 2012 18:13:43 GMT