W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-geolocation@w3.org > April 2009

Re: Intended usage notification

From: Greg Bolsinga <bolsinga@apple.com>
Date: Wed, 8 Apr 2009 11:04:54 -0700
Cc: Andrei Popescu <andreip@google.com>, "Thomson, Martin" <Martin.Thomson@andrew.com>, Alissa Cooper <acooper@cdt.org>, Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>, Doug Turner <doug.turner@gmail.com>, public-geolocation@w3.org
Message-Id: <ECAC78F3-4562-4DDB-8D38-21FB365A74BC@apple.com>
To: Nick Doty <npdoty@gmail.com>
On Apr 7, 2009, at 10:20 PM, Nick Doty wrote:

> I'd like to add my voice as one that would hope for some intended  
> usage notification in the API.  As a web developer, I definitely  
> want some standard way to let my users know what I'm going to be  
> doing with their location information and to have that promise in  
> front of them at the time they're making that decision.  A dialog  
> that pops up without any context on what my site will do with a  
> user's location information will make my users uncomfortable.  Given  
> the potentially widely varying ways that the User Agents may  
> implement asking the user for permission, there may be no way for me  
> to consistently get my intended usage information to the user so  
> that they can make an appropriate decision.

Have your site display a JavaScript alert (or some other UI)  
explaining things before your javascript code uses  
navigator.geolocation. Problem solved.

Thanks,
-- Greg
Received on Wednesday, 8 April 2009 18:05:35 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Thursday, 22 March 2012 18:13:43 GMT