W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-forms@w3.org > December 2011

Fwd: New TAG Finding: Identifying Application State

From: Leigh L Klotz Jr <leigh.klotz@xerox.com>
Date: Tue, 27 Dec 2011 11:07:50 -0800
Message-ID: <4EFA1786.5080903@xerox.com>
To: Public Forms <public-forms@w3.org>


-------- Original Message --------
Subject: 	New TAG Finding: Identifying Application State
Date: 	Wed, 21 Dec 2011 15:26:10 -0800
From: 	Noah Mendelsohn <nrm@arcanedomain.com>
To: 	<www-tag@w3.org>, <public-tag-announce@w3.org>
CC: 	Ashok Malhotra <ashok.malhotra@oracle.com>, <chairs@w3.org>, W3C 
Members <w3c-ac-forum@w3.org>, Jeff Jaffe <jeff@w3.org>, T.V Raman 
<raman@google.com>



I am pleased to announce the publication of a new TAG Finding "Identifying
Application State" [1,2].

URIs were originally used primarily to identify documents on the Web, or
with the use of fragment identifiers, portions of those documents. As Web
content has evolved to include Javascript and similar applications that
have extensive client-side logic, a need has arisen to use URIs to identify
states of such applications, to provide for bookmarking and linking those
states, etc. This finding sets out some of the challenges of using URIs to
identify application states, and recommends some best practices. A more
formal introduction to the Finding and its scope can be found in its
abstract [3].

I would like to thank to Ashok Malhotra, who did much of the analysis and
editing for this work, and also former TAG member T.V. Raman, who first
brought this issue to the TAG's attention, and who wrote earlier drafts on
which this finding is based.

Noah Mendelsohn
Chair: W3C Technical Architecture Group

[1] http://www.w3.org/2001/tag/doc/IdentifyingApplicationState
[2] http://www.w3.org/2001/tag/doc/IdentifyingApplicationState-20111201
[3] http://www.w3.org/2001/tag/doc/IdentifyingApplicationState#abstract

P.S. Tracker: this fulfills TAG ACTION-634
Received on Tuesday, 27 December 2011 19:08:24 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 1 October 2013 22:06:56 UTC