W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-esw-thes@w3.org > December 2005

Thesaurus standards now published

From: Stella Dextre Clarke <sdclarke@lukehouse.demon.co.uk>
Date: Wed, 14 Dec 2005 17:13:50 -0000
To: <public-esw-thes@w3.org>, <LIS-CILIP@JISCMAIL.AC.UK>, <LIS-UKOLUG@JISCMAIL.AC.UK>, <NKOS@dli2.nsf.gov>, "Vizine-Goetz,Diane" <vizine@oclc.org>, <Gerhard.Budin@univie.ac.at>, "Aida Slavic" <aida.slavic@ucl.ac.uk>, "Alan Thomas" <alro.th@virgin.net>, "Anthony Meggitt" <anthonymeggitt@machservices.com.au>, "Audrey Sutherland" <audrey.sutherland@cls.glasgow.gov.uk>, <Audrey.Klarzynska@hse.gsi.gov.uk>, "Beasley, Bob" <dbeasley@iee.org.uk>, "beghtol@fis. utoronto. ca" <beghtol@fis.utoronto.ca>, "Bev Corwin" <bev@enso-company.com>, "Bill Hutchison" <bill.hutchison@Wordmap.com>, "Bronwen Brown" <bronwen.brown@edinburgh.gov.uk>, "Buizza Giuseppe" <GBuizza@comune.brescia.it>, "Caroline Barlow" <caroline@barlow-indexing.freeserve.co.uk>, "Cathrin Senn" <Cathrin.Senn@factiva.com>, "Charlotte Breen" <charlottebreen@eircom.net>, "Christine Miskin" <Christine.Miskin@infoengineers.com>, "Claire. Everitt" <claire.everitt@lsc.gov.uk>, "Corentin_Roulin@compuserve. com" <Corentin_Roulin@compuserve.com>, "Dagobert Soergel" <ds52@umail.umd.edu>, <david.haynes@cilip.org.uk>, "Derek Sturdy" <derek.sturdy@infoengineers.com>, "Diana Grimwood-Jones" <diana@artemisconsult.demon.co.uk>, "Dionysis Giannibas" <giannibas@ekt.gr>, "Emily Fayen" <emily.fayen@verizon.net>, "Evans, Meinir \(IMD Translation Service\)" <Meinir.Evans@Wales.gsi.gov.uk>, "Gerhard. Riesthuis@. uva. nl" <Gerhard.Riesthuis@hum.uva.nl>, "Helen Lippell" <helen.lippell@bbc.co.uk>, "Ia McIlwaine" <uczcw07@ucl.ac.uk>, "Ian Crowlesmith \(IanCrowlesmith\)" <i.crowlesmith@elsevier.nl>, "J Wyllie" <jwyllie@trendmonitor.com>, "James Reid" <james.reid@ed.ac.uk>, "'Jean Aitchison'" <Jean.Aitchison@btinternet.com>, "Jean Bacon \(COUNTRYSIDE\)" <Jean.Bacon@countryside.gov.uk>, "Jessica Milstead" <milstead@jelem.com>, Jesus Rey (Jesus Rey) <J.Rey@cindoc.csic.es>, "Johannes Keizer" <Johannes.Keizer@fao.org>, "John Borras" <john.borras@e-envoy.gsi.gov.uk>, "Joseph A Busch" <jbusch@taxonomystrategies.com>, "Joyce Stannard" <Joyce.Stannard@odpm.gsi.gov.uk>, "Linda Hill" <l7hill@gte.net>, "Lori Starr" <lstarr@nal.usda.gov>, "M VAN DER WALT \(M VAN DER WALT\)" <Msvdw@AKAD.SUN.AC.ZA>, "Maewyn Cumming" <maewyn.cumming@defra.gsi.gov.uk>, "Marcia Lei Zeng" <mzeng@kent.edu>, "Marjorie Hlava" <mhlava@ACCESSINN.COM>, "Maryanne Lykke Nielsen" <mln@db.dk>, "Michele Hudon \(Michele Hudon\)" <michele.hudon@umontreal.ca>, "Mike Collett" <schemeta@mac.com>, "Miles, AJ \(Alistair\) " <A.J.Miles@rl.ac.uk>, "MultiTes@aol. com" <MultiTes@aol.com>, "Murtha Baca \(Murtha Baca\)" <MBaca@getty.edu>, <pat.bell@hmce.gsi.gov.uk>, <Patrice.landry@slb.admin.ch>, <Peter.Jordan@e-Envoy.gsi.gov.uk>, "Philip Defriez \(E-mail\)" <philip.Defriez@doh.gsi.gov.uk>, "R J Bater MCLIP" <bbater@infoplex-uk.com>, "Snowden Andrew AE" <Andrew.Snowden@icl.com>, <tracy.powell@ssc.govt.nz>, <Traugott.Koch@ub2.lu.se>, "uczcvbr" <uczcvbr@ucl.ac.uk>, <y.turgeon@iaea.org>, "'Fulvio Mazzocchi'" <mazzocchi@iia.cnr.it>, "'Marisa Trigari'" <m.trigari@indire.it>, "Ron Davies" <ron@rondavies.be>, "Ben Soares" <Ben.Soares@ed.ac.uk>, "LEE, Edmund" <Edmund.Lee@ENGLISH-HERITAGE.ORG.UK>, "Mike Taylor" <mike@tecc.co.uk>, "Paul Miller" <p.miller@jisc.ac.uk>, "Rachel Heery" <r.m.heery@ukoln.ac.uk>, "Richard Light" <richard@light.demon.co.uk>, "Sheila Walker" <Sheila.Walker3@homeoffice.gsi.gov.uk>, "Ben Anderson" <ben.anderson@dwp.gsi.gov.uk>, "Cathy Day" <EOLPortal@essexcc.gov.uk>, "David Eilbeck \(E-mail\)" <david.eilbeck@ir.gsi.gov.uk>, <Info-IM3@defence.mod.uk>, "'Joyce Stannard'" <Joyce.Stannard@odpm-dft.gsi.gov.uk>, "Kevin Jackson \(CD\)" <Kevin.Jackson@defra.gsi.gov.uk>, "Leila Mottahedeh" <Leila.Mottahedeh@hmce.gsi.gov.uk>, "Maidment, Mark \(IMD\)" <mark.maidment@DEFRA.GSI.GOV.UK>, "Paula Collins" <paula.collins@fco.gov.uk>, "Peter Cornelissen" <peter.cornelissen@rdd-phru.cam.ac.uk>, "REED, Julia" <Julia.REED@dfes.gsi.gov.uk>
Cc: "Leonard Will \(Leonard Will\)" <L.Will@Willpowerinfo.co.uk>, <alan.gilchrist@tfpl.com>, "'Ron Davies'" <ron@rondavies.be>
Message-ID: <004e01c600d1$c2d10180$0300a8c0@DELL>

The first two Parts of BS 8723 have now been published and full
reference details are at the foot of this message.

Taken together, these two Parts revise and supersede BS 5723:1987, the
Guide to Establishment and development of monolingual thesauri. Since
this British Standard is identical to ISO 2788, it is hoped that in due
course, with the input of collaborators in other countries, BS 8723 will
pave the way towards a corresponding revision of the international
standard. 

The differences between BS 5723 (now withdrawn) and BS 8723 Parts 1 and
2 are very substantial, even though the basic principles of thesaurus
construction are preserved. The whole text has been rewritten in today's
idiom, and some additional aspects are now covered:
- facet analysis  
- presentation via electronic (as well as printed) media;
- thesaurus functions in electronic systems  
- requirements for thesaurus management software  

Meantime, work continues on the three other parts planned for BS 8723.
These will cover, respectively: 
- Vocabularies other than thesauri; 
- Interoperation between multiple vocabularies (with multilingual
thesauri as a special case); 
- Interoperation between vocabularies and other components of
information storage and retrieval systems.

If you are in the UK, you can get Parts 1 and 2 (at a price) from BSI at
Telephone: +44(0)20 8996-9001
Website: www.bsi-global.com/bsonline
Email: orders@bsi-global.com
Email (enquiries): info@bsi-global.com
Fax: +44(0)20 8996-7001
Post: BSI Customer Services, 389 Chiswick High Road, London W4 4AL

If you are overseas, you may find it easier to contact your national
standards body, for example AFNOR in France or DIN in Germany. All of
these bodies have agreements to sell each other's publications.

Now here are the reference details:

BS 8723-1:2005  
*Title: Structured vocabularies for information retrieval. Guide.
Definitions, symbols and abbreviations 
*Publication date: 1 November 2005
*ISBN: 0 580 46798 8
*Pages: 10
*Price: 26 pounds sterling for BSI members; 52 pounds for non-members

BS 8723-2:2005  
*Title: Structured vocabularies for information retrieval. Guide.
Thesauri *Publication date: 1 November 2005
*ISBN: 0 580 46799 6
*Pages: 60
*Price: 64 pounds sterling for BSI members; 128 pounds for non-members 

*****************************************************
Stella Dextre Clarke
Information Consultant
Luke House, West Hendred, Wantage, Oxon, OX12 8RR, UK
Tel: 01235-833-298
Fax: 01235-863-298
SDClarke@LukeHouse.demon.co.uk
*****************************************************
Received on Wednesday, 14 December 2005 17:19:43 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 7 December 2009 10:38:54 GMT