W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-egov-announce@w3.org > January to March 2012

Atlantic and Eurasian eGov Meetings

From: Sandro Hawke <sandro@w3.org>
Date: Mon, 19 Mar 2012 10:21:45 -0400
To: "W3C eGov Interest Group (All)" <public-egov-ig@w3.org>, W3C eGov Announcements <public-egov-announce@w3.org>
Message-ID: <1332166905.6552.90.camel@waldron>
The HTML version of this post may be easier to read:
http://www.w3.org/blog/egov/2012/03/19/atlantic-and-eurasian-egov-meetings/

   One challenge for a global group like the eGovernment
   Interest Group is time zones.    There is no time we can have a
   meeting that is not the middle of the night for someone who
   wants to participate.  At this point, we are going to try
   having two regular meeting times, like this:

 * ATLANTIC MEETINGS will start at one of these times, and run
   about 90 minutes:

    1. 7am Los Angeles, 10am Washington, 3pm London, 4pm Brussels
       Other Cities: http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/fixedtime.html?iso=20120601T07&p1=137
    2. 8am Los Angeles, 11am Washington, 4pm London, 5pm Brussels
       Other Cities: http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/fixedtime.html?iso=20120601T08&p1=137
    3. 9am Los Angeles, Noon Washington, 5pm London, 6pm Brussels
       Other Cities: http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/fixedtime.html?iso=20120601T09&p1=137

   If you would like to attend these meetings, please answer
   the eGov Atlantic Meeting Times poll. (Before filling out the
   poll, be sure the times are being displayed for your time
   zone.)

       ==>  http://www.doodle.com/getnrihx2xsibu2y

 * EURASIAN MEETINGS will start at one of these times, and run
   about 90 minutes:

    1. 7am London, 8am Brussels, 2pm Beijing, 4pm Canberra,
       Other Cities http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/fixedtime.html?iso=20120601T0700&p1=136
    2. 8am London, 9am Brussels, 3pm Beijing, 5pm Canberra,
       Other Cities http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/fixedtime.html?iso=20120601T0800&p1=136
    3. 9am London, 10am Brussels, 4pm Beijing, 6pm Canberra,
       Other Cities http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/fixedtime.html?iso=20120601T0900&p1=136

   If you would like to attend these meetings, please answer
   the eGov Eurasian Meeting Times poll. (Before filling out the
   poll, be sure the times are being displayed for your time
   zone.)

       ==>  http://www.doodle.com/crt6v4su4gums7sk

   Note that daylight saving time changes these relative times.
   The times given above are for the northern hemisphere summer.
   Right now, in mid-March, with the continental US having started
   DST before the rest of the hemisphere, we are during one of the
   periods when the relative times are not in the above
   configuration. These variations will be handled, going forward,
   by considering the Atlantic meeting time fixed to Los Angeles
   local time and the Eurasian meeting time fixed to London local
   time. To see the meeting time in your city on a particular
   date, use the “Other Cities” link, select “Modify Calculation”,
   and change the date.

I hope that's all clear!

     -- Sandro
Received on Monday, 19 March 2012 14:22:02 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 19 March 2012 14:22:02 GMT