__________________

The W3C Data on the Web Best Practices WG is organizing a series of Open Data Webinars with City CIO's from around the world to collect first hand use case examples of Open Data Opportunities, Challenges and Requirements - what's worked, what needs work, and what lessons have been learned that we can harvest as part of our open standards Best Practices work.  

These calls are open to the public and all content is contributed as Open Data under a Royalty Free license.

Our first call will be on February 13th at 9am PT, 12pm ET, and our speaker is Jonathan Reichental, CIO of the City of Palo Alto in California.  Palo Alto is a beautiful city of about 100,000 inhabitants in the middle of Silicon Valley.  It is home to Stanford University and it has a diverse IT savvy population.  Last Week, Palo Alto began a new policy initiative called "Open by Default" whereby the City seeks to be a model for Open Government and Transparency by publishing Open Data by default for all of it's public activities.  

Jonathan will talk about the goals of the Open by Default program, the cultural, technical, and political challenges the city faces implementing it and what we can all learn from their experience.

The call will be recorded, with Q&A, and comments will be documented by the Data on the Web Best Practices Working Group.

Title: Open by Default
Speaker: Jonathan Reichental
Date: February 13th 2014
Time: 9am PT, 12pm ET, 5pm GMT, 6pm GMT +1
USA Toll Free: 888-426-6840
Participant Code: 70360994

BRAZIL
Access Type: Toll-Free
AT&T Direct Number: 0800-890-0288
Dial-In Number: 888-426-6840 | Global Dialing Comment:
LANDLINE ONLY

NETHERLANDS
Access Type: Toll-Free
Dial-In Number: 0-800-363-6036 | Global Dialing Comment:

UNITED KINGDOM
Access Type: Toll-Free
Dial-In Number: 0800-368-0638 | Global Dialing Comment:

Webinar Information
To Participate online:

1. Go to the URL -http://www.webdialogs.com

2. Click Join a Meeting button in the top right corner of the page

3. Enter the Conference ID: 3208928

4. Enter your name and email address

5. Click the LogIn button



Best Regards,

Steve

Motto: "Do First, Think, Do it Again"