W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-digipub-ig@w3.org > September 2016

Re: "Show me the metadata!" :), was Re: Rough sketch for WP

From: <marcos@marcosc.com>
Date: Tue, 27 Sep 2016 21:35:06 +1000
Cc: Bill Kasdorf <bkasdorf@apexcovantage.com>, David Wood <david.wood@ephox.com>, Robin Berjon <robin@berjon.com>, Tzviya Siegman <tsiegman@wiley.com>, Baldur Bjarnason <baldur@rebus.foundation>, Dave Cramer <dave.cramer@hbgusa.com>, Michael Smith <mike@w3.org>, W3C Digital Publishing IG <public-digipub-ig@w3.org>, Peter Krautzberger <peter.krautzberger@mathjax.org>
Message-Id: <0C523461-2DFA-4976-8072-FA6735A7AB36@marcosc.com>
To: Ivan Herman <ivan@w3.org>


> On 27 Sep. 2016, at 7:56 pm, Ivan Herman <ivan@w3.org> wrote:
> 
> 
>> On 27 Sep 2016, at 11:08, Bill Kasdorf <bkasdorf@apexcovantage.com> wrote:
>> 
>> I agree, presuming that one possible choice is to put the metadata in the publication (though by far the more common and preferred practice would be to maintain it externally to the publication). This is consistent with current actual practice regarding metadata in most (but not all) sectors of publishing.
> 
> 
> We have to be careful what this means, specifically for metadata not embedded in the HTML content or part of the manifest.
> 
> - If we consider a Web Publication only (ie, simply on the Web), this means that the metadata is a separate file somewhere on the Web, referring to from, say, the manifest. What has to be conveyed somehow is whether offline is applicable for it, ie, whether that file is one of those that is 'registered' by the service worker based layer that handles the publication.
> - If we consider a Packaged Web Publication, then the issue is whether the metadata should be part of the package or not.
> 
> I think the choice should be (1) taken by the author/publisher and (2) it should be the same in both cases. By "the same" I mean if the Packaged Web Publication is 'unpacked', then the corresponding manifest should somehow list the metadata file as being candidate for offline handling, and vice versa: if a WP is packed, all files listed for offline handling must be present in the package.

"Offline handling" by who? (And if you say "browser" you have buy everyone a drink at next TPAC). But seriously, we need to please avoid speaking in passive voice when it come to any processing or handling of things. 

As I've stated a few times already, browser engines are only interested in doing as little lifting as possible. We need to be super careful about assuming browser engines providing any support that can be done by authors using a js library. 


> 
> Ivan
> 
> ----
> Ivan Herman, W3C 
> Digital Publishing Technical Lead
> Home: http://www.w3.org/People/Ivan/
> mobile: +31-641044153
> ORCID ID: http://orcid.org/0000-0003-0782-2704
> 
> 
> 
> 
Received on Tuesday, 27 September 2016 11:35:49 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 25 April 2017 10:44:45 UTC