W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-digipub-ig@w3.org > September 2016

Re: "Show me the metadata!" :), was Re: Rough sketch for WP

From: David Wood <david.wood@ephox.com>
Date: Tue, 27 Sep 2016 10:59:14 +0100
Message-ID: <CABdBTrb9wb65ySw_x4QuXYisOQrxb=6HbmYKo_GOgE4s_EXM2w@mail.gmail.com>
To: Ivan Herman <ivan@w3.org>
Cc: Bill Kasdorf <bkasdorf@apexcovantage.com>, Robin Berjon <robin@berjon.com>, Tzviya Siegman <tsiegman@wiley.com>, Marcos Caceres <marcos@marcosc.com>, Baldur Bjarnason <baldur@rebus.foundation>, Dave Cramer <dave.cramer@hbgusa.com>, Michael Smith <mike@w3.org>, W3C Digital Publishing IG <public-digipub-ig@w3.org>, Peter Krautzberger <peter.krautzberger@mathjax.org>
On Tue, Sep 27, 2016 at 10:56 AM, Ivan Herman <ivan@w3.org> wrote:

>
> On 27 Sep 2016, at 11:08, Bill Kasdorf <bkasdorf@apexcovantage.com> wrote:
>
> I agree, presuming that one possible choice is to put the metadata in the
> publication (though by far the more common and preferred practice would be
> to maintain it externally to the publication). This is consistent with
> current actual practice regarding metadata in most (but not all) sectors of
> publishing.
>
>
>
> We have to be careful what this means, specifically for metadata not
> embedded in the HTML content or part of the manifest.
>
> - If we consider a Web Publication only (ie, simply on the Web), this
> means that the metadata is a separate file somewhere on the Web, referring
> to from, say, the manifest. What has to be conveyed somehow is whether
> offline is applicable for it, ie, whether that file is one of those that is
> 'registered' by the service worker based layer that handles the publication.
> - If we consider a Packaged Web Publication, then the issue is whether the
> metadata should be part of the package or not.
>
> I think the choice should be (1) taken by the author/publisher and (2) it
> should be the same in both cases. By "the same" I mean if the Packaged Web
> Publication is 'unpacked', then the corresponding manifest should somehow
> list the metadata file as being candidate for offline handling, and vice
> versa: if a WP is packed, all files listed for offline handling must be
> present in the package.
>


Yes, now we're getting somewhere.

Regards,
Dave
--
David Wood



>
> Ivan
>
> ----
> Ivan Herman, W3C
> Digital Publishing Technical Lead
> Home: http://www.w3.org/People/Ivan/
> mobile: +31-641044153
> ORCID ID: http://orcid.org/0000-0003-0782-2704
>
>
>
>
>
Received on Tuesday, 27 September 2016 09:59:50 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 25 April 2017 10:44:45 UTC