W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-digipub-ig@w3.org > November 2015

Re: Proposal: remove aria-describedat from the ARIA 1.1 specification

From: White, Jason J <jjwhite@ets.org>
Date: Tue, 10 Nov 2015 20:49:43 +0000
To: Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net>
CC: Ivan Herman <ivan@w3.org>, Daniel Weck <daniel.weck@gmail.com>, "Richard Schwerdtfeger" <schwer@us.ibm.com>, Avneesh Singh <avneesh.sg@gmail.com>, Charles LaPierre <charlesl@benetech.org>, Juan Corona <juanc@evidentpoint.com>, George Kerscher <kerscher@montana.com>, "DPUB mailing list (public-digipub-ig@w3.org)" <public-digipub-ig@w3.org>, "PF (public-pfwg@w3.org)" <public-pfwg@w3.org>, Ric Wright <rkwright@geofx.com>, "Siegman, Tzviya - Hoboken" <tsiegman@wiley.com>, Zheng Xu <zxu@kobo.com>
Message-ID: <9DE78671-5D5F-469A-9746-2867EE743928@ets.org>

> On Nov 10, 2015, at 15:44, Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net> wrote:
>
> Is there another way that preserves the "no AT required" benefit? I
> regret I don't see what it could be, but it would be good if we could
> find a reliable robust way to do this without requiring AT.

Actually, Web Components have the advantage here, since you can style the user interface with CSS that allows the descriptions and other alternatives to be chosen. A custom element is also unambiguous in the markup of the document.

In reality, I suspect the Web sites/applications that provide descriptions are unlikely to use details/summary for other purposes - or, if they do, it will be clear from context.


________________________________

This e-mail and any files transmitted with it may contain privileged or confidential information. It is solely for use by the individual for whom it is intended, even if addressed incorrectly. If you received this e-mail in error, please notify the sender; do not disclose, copy, distribute, or take any action in reliance on the contents of this information; and delete it from your system. Any other use of this e-mail is prohibited.


Thank you for your compliance.

________________________________
Received on Tuesday, 10 November 2015 20:50:19 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 25 April 2017 10:44:35 UTC