W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-digipub-ig@w3.org > September 2014

Re: [METADATA] Governance/authority (ISSUE-2)

From: Graham Bell <graham@editeur.org>
Date: Wed, 17 Sep 2014 08:30:27 +0100
To: "Madans, Phil" <Phil.Madans@hbgusa.com>
CC: LAURA DAWSON <ljndawson@gmail.com>, Liam R E Quin <liam@w3.org>, "Siegman, Tzviya - Hoboken" <tsiegman@wiley.com>, Ivan Herman <ivan@w3.org>, W3C Digital Publishing IG <public-digipub-ig@w3.org>, Bill Kasdorf <bkasdorf@apexcovantage.com>, Madi Weland Solomon <madi.solomon@pearson.com>
Message-ID: <9599FB47-DB51-4B98-8B75-F7F26118DBF0@editeur.org>
This is a key point, Phil, though I'd take the argument a little further.


'Propagating your metadata around the web' means putting it on to other people's websites. And ONIX is an effective way of distributing your data in bulk to some of the people who create very effective websites (eg the big retailers, social reading sites etc). And what I have been stressing in previous e-mails is that it must be simple for those people to take the data as it is distributed, in bulk, and integrate it -- using the same data model and semantics, but a different syntax -- into their web pages.

Graham

On 16 Sep 2014, at 17:03, Madans, Phil wrote:

I think we also need to remember that ONIX was created as a B2B solution.  It was and is a way for publishers to send metadata to other members of the supply chain

Graham Bell
EDItEUR

Tel: +44 20 7503 6418
Mob: +44 7887 754958

EDItEUR Limited is a company limited by guarantee, registered in England no 2994705. Registered Office: United House, North Road, London N7 9DP, UK. Website: http://www.editeur.org
Received on Wednesday, 17 September 2014 07:31:21 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 25 April 2017 10:44:20 UTC