W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-device-apis@w3.org > May 2012

Re: [capture] HTML Media Capture implementor's feedback

From: Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>
Date: Fri, 11 May 2012 09:08:01 -0700
Message-ID: <CA+c2ei_3_4CSvjs1W+Hf1ebxV5RC1wctCr8K08Ye8e_RHG09SQ@mail.gmail.com>
To: Ben Murdoch <benm@google.com>
Cc: Rich Tibbett <richt@opera.com>, Anssi Kostiainen <anssi.kostiainen@nokia.com>, Dominique Hazael-Massieux <dom@w3.org>, "public-device-apis@w3.org public-device-apis@w3.org" <public-device-apis@w3.org>, Ilkka Oksanen <Ilkka.Oksanen@nokia.com>, ext Adam Barth <abarth@webkit.org>, Andrei Popescu <andreip@google.com>
On Fri, May 11, 2012 at 2:45 AM, Ben Murdoch <benm@google.com> wrote:
> Hi there,
>
> Chrome for Android uses the 'capture' attribute on a file input element to
> provide a hint that the user should be taken directly into the
> media acquisition application. For example, specifying capture="camera" will
> launch the camera app, "camcorder" the camcorder or "microphone" the sound
> recorder. Without the capture attribute, the user would be presented with a
> standard Android file picker, filtered on the 'accept' attribute if it's
> present.

Hmm.. last I tried, if the capture or accept attribute wasn't present
I was shown a intents-based list of applications which let the user
choose if a camera app, recorder, file picker, etc should be used.

Is that no longer the case then? Or was I simply doing something wrong
in my test?

/ Jonas
Received on Friday, 11 May 2012 16:09:05 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Friday, 11 May 2012 16:09:05 GMT