W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-device-apis@w3.org > June 2010

Re: Capture API question

From: <Frederick.Hirsch@nokia.com>
Date: Mon, 21 Jun 2010 20:44:47 +0200
To: <dom@w3.org>
CC: <Frederick.Hirsch@nokia.com>, <arun@mozilla.com>, <dzung.d.tran@intel.com>, <Ingmar.Kliche@telekom.de>, <Ilkka.Oksanen@nokia.com>, <robin@robineko.com>, <andreip@google.com>, <public-device-apis@w3.org>, <blassey@mozilla.com>, <dougt@mozilla.com>, <khuey@mozilla.com>
Message-ID: <53BD80B4-C4AD-4293-89B5-6AACD5898CFC@nokia.com>
I'm not sure we have WG agreement of removing ViewFinder material to v2, see ilkka's email. Perhaps organize into a separate section of the document?

regards, Frederick

Frederick Hirsch
Nokia



On Jun 18, 2010, at 4:14 AM, ext Dominique Hazael-Massieux wrote:

> Le mercredi 16 juin 2010 à 17:38 -0700, Arun Ranganathan a écrit :
>> Questions:
>> 
>> * Could we proceed with a web model that only looks at File API,
>> MediaFile (and FormatData) as level 1 for capturing stills, short
>> videos, and audios?  The level 1 specification should provide guidance
>> on what the invocation syntax in HTML is for these input and capture
>> devices.  We should discuss this in HTML5 via relevant public-html
>> threads, if not already spawned.
>> * Could we flesh out use cases for ViewFinder and introduce it later?
>> I can see it as useful for other streaming use cases.
>> * There could be, as Robin proposes, an API for what he's called the
>> "Trusted" scenarios (including installable apps).  It could layer
>> gracefully on top of level 1 or so.
> 
> This sounds like a good plan to me, at least. Dzung, Ingmar, Ilkka,
> would one of you mind having a stab at re-formulating the Capture API
> into what Arun describes as Level 1 above?
> This would mean scraping 1.1, 3.1, 3.4 to 3.14, and massaging the
> remaining into a coherent set.
> 
> (moving the removed sections into a temporary level 2 spec would be
> fine, but we can always get them back from CVS, so I wouldn't
> necessarily worry about that now)
> 
> Dom
> 
> 
> 
Received on Monday, 21 June 2010 18:46:45 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Wednesday, 9 May 2012 00:14:10 GMT