W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-credentials@w3.org > June 2017

Re: "Identity"

From: Dave Longley <dlongley@digitalbazaar.com>
Date: Thu, 1 Jun 2017 09:51:43 -0400
To: Christopher Allen <ChristopherA@blockstream.com>, Timothy Holborn <timothy.holborn@gmail.com>
Cc: Manu Sporny <msporny@digitalbazaar.com>, Credentials CG <public-credentials@w3.org>, Joe Andrieu <joe@andrieu.net>
Message-ID: <176dceda-6154-ee26-d444-b8cf08ad326b@digitalbazaar.com>
On 06/01/2017 02:05 AM, Christopher Allen wrote:
> I recommend people interested in this topic take a look at the white
> paper that Joe Andrieu led on the topic “Identity Crisis: Clearer
> Identity through Correlation”.
> https://github.com/WebOfTrustInfo/ID2020DesignWorkshop/blob/master/final-documents/identity-crisis.pdf
>
>
>
> "We propose using “correlation” instead of “identity” when discussing
> concrete identities in identity systems. It isn’t a word-for-word
> replacement, but using it will improve the conversation. We argue
> that “correlation” provides a more concise and clear understanding of
> how identity is created and applied in both digital and real-world
> systems, and that using it as an alternative to “identity” will
> improve communication and understanding.”
>
>
> I found the concept moved my thoughts in some significant ways. As a
> long-time digital privacy advocate (almost 30 years!) I’ve always
> fought for anti-correlation. But Joe’s articulation of the concept
> of “Correlation as Identity” has made me realize that without
> correlation then identity systems are useless. So correlation must be
> a spectrum, undesirable at either extreme, but needing some balance,
> albeit on the human and humane side of equation.

Big +1 to correlation being a spectrum ... and it's very difficult to
enforce exactly the right amount of it for any particular use case.


-- 
Dave Longley
CTO
Digital Bazaar, Inc.
http://digitalbazaar.com
Received on Thursday, 1 June 2017 13:52:14 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Wednesday, 11 July 2018 21:19:38 UTC