W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-credentials@w3.org > June 2016

Re: Inventor of the Web Creates Identity on Bitcoin Blockchain Sir Timothy Berners-Lee, an english computer scientist and the inventor of the World Wide Web has created his first Bitcoin blockchain ID on June 9

From: David Nicol <davidnicol@gmail.com>
Date: Fri, 10 Jun 2016 15:25:52 -0500
Message-ID: <CAFwScO-vXV19mS2uk8hyMY6uP_1Tzi5tJWT6tr1-sbpb_4Qzvg@mail.gmail.com>
To: Roger Bass <roger@traxiant.com>
Cc: Anders Rundgren <anders.rundgren.net@gmail.com>, Adrian Hope-Bailie <adrian@hopebailie.com>, "ARIE Y. LEVY-COHEN" <arielevycohen@gmail.com>, Jason Grant <jason@flexewebs.com>, Manu Sporny <msporny@digitalbazaar.com>, Erik Anderson <eanderson20@bloomberg.net>, Web Payments IG <public-webpayments-ig@w3.org>, Web Payments CG <public-webpayments@w3.org>, Credentials Community Group <public-credentials@w3.org>
My current thoughts on identity interoperability are as follows:

An identity statement, including a public key, is composed into a data
block in a human and machine readable file format, details to be determined.

This data block is stored and replicated on IPFS or equivalent.

The hash of the data block is then used as needed as an immutable identity
handle.

Problems such as private key loss/theft/cracking and the possibility of
identity details (name, address) changing remain open. Detail change can be
dealt with through indirection to mutable data blocks following the BEP44
semantics for limiting updates to distributed mutable data to the holder of
a private key, which reduces to the familiar problem of protecting private
keys.


-- 
"Why would you want to be the last man alive on a sinking ship?" -- Elon
Musk
Received on Friday, 10 June 2016 20:26:20 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Wednesday, 11 July 2018 21:19:29 UTC