W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-cognitive-a11y-tf@w3.org > June 2014

Re: Short comment on autisim in the gap analysis

From: Rochford, John <john.rochford@umassmed.edu>
Date: Sun, 1 Jun 2014 17:22:35 +0000
To: "lisa.seeman" <lisa.seeman@zoho.com>
CC: "Joseph K O'Connor" <josephoconnor@mac.com>, "easeofuse@ca.rr.com" <easeofuse@ca.rr.com>, "ead@ecs.soton.ac.uk" <ead@ecs.soton.ac.uk>, "Anthony Doran" <t.doran@texthelp.com>, Jim Allan <jimallan@tsbvi.edu>, "frederick.boland@nist.gov" <frederick.boland@nist.gov>, Liddy Nevile <liddy@sunriseresearch.org>, "steve.jacobs" <steve.jacobs@ideal-group.org>, Steve Lee <steve@opendirective.com>, Cynthia Jimes <cynthia@iskme.org>, public-cognitive-a11y-tf <public-cognitive-a11y-tf@w3.org>, "jfeng@towson.edu" <jfeng@towson.edu>, Emmanuelle Gutiérrez y Restrepo <emmanuelle@sidar.org>
Message-ID: <55BD19D83AA2BE499FBE026983AB2B58359DD7E3@ummscsmbx01.ad.umassmed.edu>
Hi Lisa and All,

The points Lisa makes are good ones.

About the persona citation:
I did receive permission from one the authors, Sarah Horton, to cite the persona in the Autism Gap Analysis. Is that sufficient to use copyrighted content?

About the guidelines:
I will contact Jared Smith, of WebAIM, to discover the sources of the research. Even so, it would be good to get feedback from the group about whether or not general guidelines should be used in a gap analysis for a specific disability. One reason I did was because it is my understanding we will eventually combine our analyses into a single set.

John

John Rochford

UMass Medical School/E.K. Shriver Center
Director, INDEX Program; Instructor, Family Medicine & Community Health
http://www.DisabilityInfo.org
Twitter: @ClearHelper

On Jun 1, 2014 11:08 AM, "lisa.seeman" <lisa.seeman@zoho.com> wrote:
>
> Hi
>
> I was having a look at the autism section of the gap analysis. A lot more content has been added - well done. 
>  
> Are we comfortable using  material from webaim articles as source information for guidelines for autism? The article in question talks about cognitive accessibility in general and does not site research. I am not sure we can site that as examples for the section specifically on autism. 
>
> Also for the persona from UX magazine is copyrighted, so I suggest we remove it. (We need to be careful with directly copying.)
>
>
> All the best
>
> Lisa Seeman
>
> Athena ICT Accessibility Projects 
> LinkedIn, Twitter
>
>
Received on Sunday, 1 June 2014 17:23:54 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 6 January 2015 20:01:19 UTC