W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-audio@w3.org > July to September 2012

High Priority Audio Workers, Was: Resolution to republish MSP as a note

From: Jussi Kalliokoski <jussi.kalliokoski@gmail.com>
Date: Mon, 20 Aug 2012 17:38:10 +0300
Message-ID: <CAJhzemXwpVTqX+sSvM0YKr6D9W1xnpdPR4LDv+q3t52o8xgbSw@mail.gmail.com>
To: Srikumar Karaikudi Subramanian <srikumarks@gmail.com>
Cc: olivier Thereaux <olivier.thereaux@bbc.co.uk>, Mark Boas <markb@happyworm.com>, James Wei <james.wei@intel.com>, Chris Rogers <crogers@google.com>, Stéphane Letz <letz@grame.fr>, Audio Working Group <public-audio@w3.org>, Matthew Paradis <matthew.paradis@bbc.co.uk>, Christopher Lowis <Chris.Lowis@bbc.co.uk>
Hello everyone,

As I suspected, the question seems to be more "do we allow anything on the
web to run in a priority thread" rather than "do we allow web workers to
run in a priority thread". Which means we probably should address issues
such as [1] ASAP if we want to advance with audio running in a real-time
thread. I think that implementing such a protection mechanism would also
make it realistic to have audio workers run in priority threads, making it
a better possibility to drop the latency requirement of the JS nodes,
allowing them to play better together with the rest of the graph.

[1] https://www.w3.org/Bugs/Public/show_bug.cgi?id=18539

Cheers,
Jussi
Received on Monday, 20 August 2012 14:38:38 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 20 August 2012 14:38:39 GMT