W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-audio@w3.org > July to September 2012

Re: Resolution to republish MSP as a note

From: Jussi Kalliokoski <jussi.kalliokoski@gmail.com>
Date: Wed, 15 Aug 2012 16:22:33 +0300
Message-ID: <CAJhzemUhCrM3Pfc0XZsBGEN-LW6WFHM00azh67b29V-zQmYH+w@mail.gmail.com>
To: Stéphane Letz <letz@grame.fr>
Cc: Chris Rogers <crogers@google.com>, Srikumar Karaikudi Subramanian <srikumarks@gmail.com>, olivier Thereaux <olivier.thereaux@bbc.co.uk>, Mark Boas <markb@happyworm.com>, James Wei <james.wei@intel.com>, Audio Working Group <public-audio@w3.org>, Matthew Paradis <matthew.paradis@bbc.co.uk>, Christopher Lowis <Chris.Lowis@bbc.co.uk>
On Tue, Aug 14, 2012 at 10:00 AM, Stéphane Letz <letz@grame.fr> wrote:

> >
> > The idea of using a specialized audio "shader" language is an attractive
> one.  I'm not sure that WebCL is the right language because there are some
> security issues surrounding it, and I think its future is unclear.  If we
> look at some other choices, there are other audio languages that have been
> developed over the decades.  You mention Chuck, but there's also CSound,
> SuperCollider, Faust,  MPEG-4's SAOL, and others.
> >
> > In some ways SAOL (or a stripped down version of it) seems like the type
> of thing we would want.  If such a language were chosen, then it would have
> to be shown to be totally secure to run in a browser environment.  Going
> through the process of specifying the language and writing the run-time
> implementation would involve an enormous effort.
> >
> > That's why the idea of processing in JavaScript is so attractive,
> because it's a language that web developers know, has solved the security
> issues, and has implementations on all the browsers already.
>  Unfortunately, it's not as well suited to more real-time applications, but
> it's still very interesting and useful I think.
> >
> > Chris
> >
>
> We would like to possibly experiment with Faust (that has a library
> version + a LLVM IR backend). How complex would it be to "hack" the WebCore
> Web Audio code and add a custom Faust audio node?
>

For the record, Faust already has a JS backend, you can compile foo.dsp to
foo.js with `faust -lang js -o foo.js foo.dsp`. Might be a better idea to
just improve the JS node to make it an easier/better target for languages
like Faust...

Cheers,
Jussi
Received on Wednesday, 15 August 2012 13:23:02 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Wednesday, 15 August 2012 13:23:02 GMT