W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-audio@w3.org > January to March 2012

Re: Adding MIDI APIs to Audio WG Charter (was: MIDI enumeration (was: Re: getUserMedia use cases))

From: Robert O'Callahan <robert@ocallahan.org>
Date: Fri, 3 Feb 2012 00:32:17 +1300
Message-ID: <CAOp6jLZc60bYCVU-Fr6U7vyo-H1x2LuEsObWmXb-UHaJ7Eu=NQ@mail.gmail.com>
To: "Tom White (MMA)" <lists@midi.org>
Cc: Chris Wilson <cwilso@google.com>, "Marat Tanalin | tanalin.com" <mtanalin@yandex.ru>, Doug Schepers <schepers@w3.org>, Joseph Berkovitz <joe@noteflight.com>, Robin Berjon <robin@berjon.com>, public-audio@w3.org, Dom Hazael-Massieux <dom@w3.org>, jussi.kalliokoski@gmail.com
Accessing an OS synthesizer raises the issue of inconsistent synthesis
across OSes (which was raised as a priority by Joseph earlier in the
thread). Sending untrusted input to that native code also increases attack
surface. Building a synthesizer into every browser adds footprint and also
raises cross-browser inconsistency issues and new attack surface.

It would be really good if there was an open-source Javascript synthesizer
that all developers could use (assuming browsers implement a suitable API
to play the generated samples). Is there any good code available that could
be adapted for this? It would be very helpful if someone investigated the
viability of this approach.

Rob
-- 
"If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not
in us. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us
our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness. If we claim we have not
sinned, we make him out to be a liar and his word is not in us." [1 John
1:8-10]
Received on Thursday, 2 February 2012 11:32:46 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Thursday, 2 February 2012 11:32:47 GMT