W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-audio@w3.org > April to June 2012

Re: Web Audio API spec review

From: Robert O'Callahan <robert@ocallahan.org>
Date: Wed, 16 May 2012 11:15:03 +1200
Message-ID: <CAOp6jLZV1-4O3UojVGZEOujvLfWQP5UoonEQWhgb8q3nQF5O=w@mail.gmail.com>
To: olli@pettay.fi
Cc: Chris Rogers <crogers@google.com>, Philip Jägenstedt <philipj@opera.com>, public-audio@w3.org
On Wed, May 16, 2012 at 10:33 AM, Olli Pettay <Olli.Pettay@helsinki.fi>wrote:

> On 05/16/2012 01:26 AM, Robert O'Callahan wrote:
>
>> One thing that is going to be really important when addressing this
>> feedback is understanding the existing compatibility constraints. As I said
>> in an
>> earlier email, if Webkit is unwilling to take a change, due to
>> compatibility concerns, then we probably don't want to take that change in
>> the spec either.
>>
>
> What compatibility concerns? We're talking about an early draft of a spec,
> which is even implemented prefixed.
> Changing the spec sure should be possible.
>

Google has heavily evangelized use of Web Audio in production apps. It has
been presented as *the* solution for audio processing, without caveats.
Google people told me they're not willing to break compatibility with the
content created under those assumptions.

Rob
-- 
“You have heard that it was said, ‘Love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’
But I tell you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you,
that you may be children of your Father in heaven. ... If you love those
who love you, what reward will you get? Are not even the tax collectors
doing that? And if you greet only your own people, what are you doing more
than others?" [Matthew 5:43-47]
Received on Tuesday, 15 May 2012 23:15:33 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 15 May 2012 23:15:34 GMT