W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-audio@w3.org > October to December 2011

Re: TPAC F2F and Spec Proposals

From: Chris Rogers <crogers@google.com>
Date: Mon, 17 Oct 2011 17:47:46 -0700
Message-ID: <CA+EzO0k_o=xf1cCcu2SEhCZ3kANzCO22w4ExVRzAAgPzM_qkng@mail.gmail.com>
To: Olli@pettay.fi
Cc: robert@ocallahan.org, Doug Schepers <schepers@w3.org>, Joe Berkovitz <joe@noteflight.com>, tmichel@w3.org, Philippe Le Hegaret <plh@w3.org>, Alistair MacDonals <al@pwn.io>, public-audio@w3.org, mgregan@mozilla.com
On Mon, Oct 17, 2011 at 4:23 PM, Olli Pettay <Olli.Pettay@helsinki.fi>wrote:

> On 10/14/2011 03:47 AM, Robert O'Callahan wrote:
>
>  The big thing it doesn't have is a library of native effects like the
>> Web Audio API has, although there is infrastructure for specifying named
>> native effects and attaching effect parameters to streams. I would love
>> to combine my proposal with the Web Audio effects.
>>
>
>
> As far as I see Web Audio doesn't actually specify the effects in any
> way, I mean the algorithms, so having two implementations to do the
> same thing would be more than lucky. That is not, IMO, something we
> should expose to the web, at least not in the audio/media core API.
>

I'm a bit perplexed by this statement.  The AudioNodes represent established
audio building blocks used in audio engineering for decades.  They have very
mathematically precise algorithms.  Audio engineering and computer music
theory has a long tradition, and has been well studied.

Chris
Received on Tuesday, 18 October 2011 00:48:13 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 18 October 2011 00:48:14 GMT