W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-appformats@w3.org > April 2008

Re: XDR *API* Security Impact

From: Kris Zyp <kris@sitepen.com>
Date: Mon, 14 Apr 2008 11:25:20 -0600
Message-ID: <074e01c89e54$869d5b00$4200a8c0@kris>
To: "Thomas Roessler" <tlr@w3.org>
Cc: <public-appformats@w3.org>, "Web API WG \(public\)" <public-webapi@w3.org>, "Jon Ferraiolo" <jferrai@us.ibm.com>, "Close, Tyler J." <tyler.close@hp.com>, "Chris Wilson" <Chris.Wilson@microsoft.com>, "David Ross" <dross@windows.microsoft.com>, "Doug Stamper" <dstamper@exchange.microsoft.com>, "Eric Lawrence" <ericlaw@exchange.microsoft.com>, "Gideon Cohn" <gidco@windows.microsoft.com>, "Ian Hickson" <ian@hixie.ch>, "Jonas Sicking" <jonas@sicking.cc>, "Laurens Holst" <lholst@students.cs.uu.nl>, "Marc Silbey" <marcsil@windows.microsoft.com>, "Maciej Stachowiak" <mjs@apple.com>, "Nikhil Kothari" <nikhilko@microsoft.com>, "Sharath Udupa" <Sharath.Udupa@microsoft.com>, "Sunava Dutta" <sunavad@windows.microsoft.com>, "Zhenbin Xu" <zhenbinx@windows.microsoft.com>

> I don't know whether "most modern devs are using JSON",

Yeah, I really don't have any data to back that up, I shouldn't make such 
claims :). But I think it is safe to say that many devs use it.

> More generically, I don't think that new cross-origin APIs that
> "just return a string" (but are clearly intended for structured
> data) should be standardized (or shipped) given the experience
> that's available.

So you would be in favor of a responseJSON property?

Kris 
Received on Monday, 14 April 2008 17:33:56 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 14 April 2008 17:33:56 GMT