W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > ietf-http-wg@w3.org > July to September 2014

Re: #541: CONTINUATION

From: Walter H. <walter.h@mathemainzel.info>
Date: Thu, 3 Jul 2014 10:00:26 +0200
Message-ID: <783c5c9a0ca2e4063961f2054d9e5351.1404374426@squirrel.mail>
To: "Poul-Henning Kamp" <phk@phk.freebsd.dk>
Cc: "Walter H." <walter.h@mathemainzel.info>, "Mark Nottingham" <mnot@mnot.net>, "HTTP Working Group" <ietf-http-wg@w3.org>, "Tatsuhiro Tsujikawa" <tatsuhiro.t@gmail.com>, "Mike Bishop" <michael.bishop@microsoft.com>, "Gábor Molnár" <gabor.molnar@sch.bme.hu>, "Patrick McManus" <mcmanus@ducksong.com>, "Shigeki Ohtsu" <ohtsu@iij.ad.jp>, "Ludin, Stephen" <sludin@akamai.com>, "Johnny Graettinger" <jgraettinger@chromium.org>, "Hasan Khalil" <hkhalil@google.com>, "Jeff Pinner" <jpinner@twitter.com>, block.rxckin.beats@gmail.com, "Adrian Cole" <adrian.f.cole@gmail.com>, matsumoto_r@net.ist.i.kyoto-u.ac.jp, "Cory Benfield" <cory@lukasa.co.uk>, "Daniel Stenberg" <daniel@haxx.se>, "Flack, Martin" <mflack@akamai.com>, t@motd.kr, "Greg Wilkins" <gregw@intalio.com>, "Jeroen de Borst" <j.deborst@f5.com>
On Thu, July 3, 2014 09:43, Poul-Henning Kamp wrote:
> In message <6fc43f2a8f1f1ae53aed7ae0e02dfd3e.1404369751@squirrel.mail>,
> "Walter H." writes:
>>On Wed, July 2, 2014 14:29, Poul-Henning Kamp wrote:
>>>
>>> PPS:
>>>     I'm looking for co-authors for a jumboframe extension draft.
>>
>>this is a mistake by design, because, jumbo frames are an extension to
>>Ethernet, and this is some layer deeper and has nothing to do with http,
>>nor with tcp/ip itself;
>
> Uhm, we're talking about HTTP/2 frames, not ethernet frames.

that doesn't prevent you of making a mistake by design;
because a HTTP/2 frame can be of ANY size and so it makes no sense of
handling "jumbo http/2 frames";
its the lower layer that handles jumbo frames and NOT HTTP itself;
Received on Thursday, 3 July 2014 08:02:00 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Wednesday, 30 March 2016 09:57:08 UTC