W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > ietf-http-wg@w3.org > July to September 2012

RE: Status code for censorship?

From: Dereq Dereq <dereq@japan.com>
Date: Tue, 10 Jul 2012 07:35:26 -0400
Cc: "Tim Bray" <tbray@textuality.com>,"Mark Nottingham" <mnot@mnot.net>,"Karl Dubost" <karld@opera.com>,ietf-http-wg@w3.org
Message-ID: <20120710113527.298390@gmx.com>
To: "Musatov, Martin - CW" <Martin.Musatov@bestbuy.com>,"Julian Reschke" <julian.reschke@gmx.de>,"James M Snell" <jasnell@gmail.com>
>Yes, but what incentives are there for censors to comply with its use? It depends on who is doing the censorship v. who wants the censorship done. In China or Iran or ... maybe the new status code wouldn't get used. In western democracies where ISPs are forced by government to censor, the ISP is more likely to want to be transparent about it - after all the ISP doesn't want to get thousands of extra support calls to its call centre - and even government may grudgingly accept the transparency of an explicit status code.
Received on Tuesday, 10 July 2012 11:35:58 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 10 July 2012 11:36:07 GMT