W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > ietf-http-wg@w3.org > July to September 2009

Re: iPhone streaming Internet-Draft posted

From: Roy T. Fielding <fielding@gbiv.com>
Date: Tue, 4 Aug 2009 16:09:05 -0700
Message-Id: <E9C5C6C0-D4A0-4D04-8BDA-45BB030ECA44@gbiv.com>
Cc: HTTP Working Group <ietf-http-wg@w3.org>, Daniel Stenberg <daniel@haxx.se>, http-live-streaming-review <http-live-streaming-review@group.apple.com>, Travis Brown <travis@apple.com>, Steve Sinclair <steve.sinclair@apple.com>, Stuart Cheshire <cheshire@apple.com>
To: David Singer <singer@apple.com>
On Aug 4, 2009, at 3:15 PM, David Singer wrote:
> The goal of the draft is to produce interoperable implementations.  
> We wish to keep it focused on a single transport: HTTP.

HTTP is not a transport.

>> But really, I'm mostly speaking with my HTTP hat on here and this  
>> spec has very little to do with HTTP and I think I'd better rest  
>> my case about the rest.
>
> We believe that the title live-media-streaming-over-http removes  
> any impression that it is an extension of the HTTP standard.

Not as well as the title: Dynamic Playlist Format for Live Media  
Streaming

....Roy
Received on Tuesday, 4 August 2009 23:09:40 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Friday, 27 April 2012 06:51:08 GMT