W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > ietf-http-wg@w3.org > April to June 2008

Re: i28 proposed replacement text

From: Julian Reschke <julian.reschke@gmx.de>
Date: Sat, 24 May 2008 12:05:06 +0200
Message-ID: <4837E852.3050509@gmx.de>
To: Henrik Nordstrom <henrik@henriknordstrom.net>
CC: Joe Orton <joe@manyfish.co.uk>, Mark Nottingham <mnot@mnot.net>, Brian Smith <brian@briansmith.org>, Jamie Lokier <jamie@shareable.org>, Yves Lafon <ylafon@w3.org>, ietf-http-wg@w3.org

Henrik Nordstrom wrote:
> ...
> If no T-E is used and no Content-Length then it's tricker as the receier
> then has to fully parse the response and from that judge if it's
> complete or not, and then guess if this is due to a server failure or if
> the object at the server really is corrupted/truncated...
> ...

Well, in the generic case, the recipient hasn't got sufficient 
information for parsing (think browser doing file download).

BR, Julian
Received on Saturday, 24 May 2008 10:06:15 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Friday, 27 April 2012 06:50:48 GMT