W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > ietf-http-wg@w3.org > July to September 2007

Re: [Fwd: I-D ACTION:draft-dusseault-http-patch-09.txt]

From: Julian Reschke <julian.reschke@gmx.de>
Date: Sun, 09 Sep 2007 16:20:15 +0200
Message-ID: <46E4011F.3080403@gmx.de>
To: Adrien de Croy <adrien@qbik.com>
CC: Jamie Lokier <jamie@shareable.org>, Yaron Goland <yarong@microsoft.com>, Henrik Nordstrom <henrik@henriknordstrom.net>, James M Snell <jasnell@gmail.com>, HTTP Working Group <ietf-http-wg@w3.org>

Adrien de Croy wrote:
>> It depends on the type of PATCH.  For example, an "append" operation -
>> or more complicatedly "append this paragraph to my simple blog file".
>> Both of those can be forms of PATCH which succeed if the original
>> entity is changed meanwhile.
>>
>>   
> Why wouldn't you just use a form POST for such an operation?

I think that's the wrong question to ask here.... Why would one, if 
PATCH is the more appropriate method for it?

> ...

Best regards, Julian
Received on Sunday, 9 September 2007 14:20:34 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Friday, 27 April 2012 06:50:15 GMT