W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > ietf-http-wg-old@w3.org > January to April 1996

Re: Comments on draft-ietf-v11-spec-00

From: Larry Masinter <masinter@parc.xerox.com>
Date: Sun, 21 Jan 1996 13:16:31 PST
To: pjc@trusted.com
Cc: http-wg%cuckoo.hpl.hp.com@hplb.hpl.hp.com
Message-Id: <96Jan21.131640pst.2733@golden.parc.xerox.com>
> Section 8.4 POST (and others)

> This section discusses a two phase process for the processing of POST requests.
> Part of the process is a five second pause.

> Use of this type of mechanism cannot work in general! It is not possible
> to design a reliable mechanism where the lask of a response in a timeframe
> such as this is part of the protocol.

There was extensive discussion of this issue under the subject lines:

> two-phase send concerns
> 'PUT' transaction reconsidered (was Re: two-phase send concerns)
> A Hybred PUT Scheme (was Re: 'PUT' ...)
> safe PUT

with contributors:
	dmk@allegra.att.com (Dave Kristol)
	"David W. Morris" <dwm@shell.portal.com>
	"Roy T. Fielding" <fielding@avron.ics.uci.edu>
	koen@win.tue.nl (Koen Holtman)
	Roger Gonzalez <rg@caffeine.server.net>
	Arjun Ray <aray@pipeline.com>
	Jeffrey Mogul <mogul@pa.dec.com>
	Rohit Khare <khare@pest.w3.org>
	Dave Long <dave@navisoft.com>
	Fisher Mark <FisherM@is3.indy.tce.com>

It would be useful for some subset of you to get together and create
either a recommended set of edits for the HTTP/1.1 proposal and/or a
separate document. 
Received on Sunday, 21 January 1996 13:18:21 EST

This archive was generated by hypermail pre-2.1.9 : Wednesday, 24 September 2003 06:31:43 EDT