W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > ietf-discuss@w3.org > December 1999

Re: HTTP Extensions Framework status?

From: Harald Tveit Alvestrand <Harald@Alvestrand.no>
Date: Wed, 08 Dec 1999 08:06:52 +0100
Message-Id: <4.2.0.58.19991208080338.0300d0f0@dokka.maxware.no>
To: Keith Moore <moore@cs.utk.edu>, "Josh Cohen (Exchange)" <joshco@Exchange.Microsoft.com>
Cc: Keith Moore <moore@cs.utk.edu>, "Yaron Goland (Exchange)" <yarong@Exchange.Microsoft.com>, "'Patrik Faltstrom'" <paf@swip.net>, Scott Lawrence <lawrence@agranat.com>, discuss@apps.ietf.org, "Peter Ford (Exchange)" <peterf@Exchange.Microsoft.com>
At 19:16 07.12.99 -0500, Keith Moore wrote:
> > I like this response.  It sounds like a good thing to trial.
> > However, its still tough to take the stigma of experimental,
> > would be it possible to have the state called "standards-track
> > experimental"?
>
>well, you can go to poisson and see whether you can convince them :)
>
>but my guess is - no.  if you want some IETF statement that the
>work will be standards-track (that is, that this is indicative
>of the direction that IETF will be taking) you need review from
>the wider community, and some assurance that you're not working
>at cross purposes  with other groups.  you have the option of
>asking for Last Call for Experimental, but this is as much work
>as asking for Proposed Standard.

IMHO:

Documents have two versions of status: One that the "great unwashed" reads 
into it, and one that careful people read into it.

The first one is a lost cause.

The second one can be influenced by such things as introductory paragraphs.
If you have an intro that says "This technology is intended by the authors 
to go on IETF standards track, but it is of such world-shaking importance 
that the community felt it best to get a little deployment experience 
before gaining consensus that this is the Way To Go and do standards 
track", some careful people might read it, and some might even believe it.

If there are a few dozen experimentals like that, and the next step HAPPENS 
to some of them, the "experimental stigma" (if it exists) is likely to fade 
over time.

                   Harald

--
Harald Tveit Alvestrand, EDB Maxware, Norway
Harald.Alvestrand@edb.maxware.no
Received on Wednesday, 8 December 1999 06:12:11 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Thursday, 23 March 2006 20:11:26 GMT